Don’t Look Behind Now!!!

behind you

 

by Kenneth Justice

~Have you ever seen the cereal commercial with the bird that says “i’m coo coo for cocoa puffs!”

I’ve been feeling a lot like that bird lately; jumping up and down, twirling around in circles, and flapping my wings sporadically yelling, “I’m coo coo”, “I’m coo coo!”

 

I’ve made a lot of decisions in the past month and my life is moving in a very different direction………thus,  it is important that I keep my eyes focused forward…..on the goals I want to obtain.

But for one moment recently I looked backwards and wondered, “Maybe I should of just stayed where I was”

Isn’t that how life is?

We make pro-active decisions to move forward, to move in a different direction, to do something different with our lives…….

but then for one slight moment; we look backwards and begin to question EVERYTHING!

Like the story of Lot and his wife….she looked backwards and paid the price!

Had someone yelled in her direction, “DON’T LOOK BACKWARDS”, “KEEP MOVING FORWARD” she might have made it……

That is what I keep yelling at myself, “Don’t look backwards!”

But, it is difficult

It is a natural tendency for many of us to question ourselves

Change is difficult for many of us to adjust ourselves towards…….life is easier when we know what to expect….

But for many us; change is necessary in order to get us from where we are to where we want to be.

“Kenneth, where do you want to be in 5 years?”

That is a question I asked myself over-and-over for the past few years…..

To be honest with you……I always knew in my heart where I wanted to be….but it took awhile for me to be honest with myself; to admit it!

I knew it was going to take a lot of change to get to where I wanted to be……

I also knew it was going to take a lot of hard work, long days, difficult decisions, and having to deal with a few people that would initially make my life difficult…..perhaps even miserable

But once I came to terms with where I wanted to be in 5 years, I took a deep breath and said to myself, “Okay, this is it……lets get the ball rolling”

~change is necessary in order to get us from where we are to where we want to be~

–) For some people “looking backwards” has to do with a relationship. They finally broke away from an abusive spouse or a dysfunctional relationship but when they got a little bit down the road they look backwards and question themselves, “maybe the relationship wasn’t as bad as I really made it out to be” they thought…..

–) For others “looking backwards” has to do with dysfunctional friends and relatives. They made the decision to no longer put up with the B.S. that these people hurled at them……but for a moment they look backwards and think to themselves, “maybe I’m making too big of a deal at the way they treat me”

Don’t look backwards!!!

Today is when we want to begin ‘righting the ship’….’steering it back on course’

~change is necessary in order to get us from where we are to where we want to be~

Change isn’t easy

Finding out what we want out of life; is not easy!

but a good place to start is asking yourself, “Where do I want to be in 5 years”

Once you’ve asked yourself that question, get yourself a good cup of coffee, sit down, take a long sip……and just breathe……

Actually, I think I will do that right now…a cup of coffee sounds good,

Kenneth

 

 



Categories: Culture & Society

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

25 replies

  1. Kind of like having a baby. Two years later, you think. well, maybe it didn’t hurt as much as I thought, and waddling around was kind of funny, and not being able to sleep or do all the other stuff, wasn’t really that bad, so I’ll do it again. Looking back…our minds play trick on us…can’t always trust what we see when we look in that direction.

    • Hitandrun,

      lol great analogy!

      although….my wife definitely remembers ‘how much it hurt’! She ain’t having another one!!

      thanks for your thoughts 🙂

  2. This is such an insightful post. I’m so glad that I came across it. I always advise my friends to do just this, however when it comes to me I find it hard to take my own advice. This is something I think many struggle with every day. It’s difficult to walk the line between understanding your past and learning from it, and wallowing in the past.

    Thanks for this post! I look forward to reading more from you!

  3. Coo Coo was who I woke up as yesterday. As I meditated I started to cry. What it was is I thought I had started to keep bad company. My new friends were challenging me with unknowns. What if they hurt me. What if I am choosing more sick people to befriend. Of course it was judging my past choices. I ended up spending the day with someone who gave me an “affirmation” on a sheet of paper. It assures me all is well. That the changes I am making in my life are from the information the cosmos is providing. That the uncomfortableness I feel can be removed by gratitude for the joy that is now. Touchy feely? Well look at it as a mantra of coffee beans. You are exactly where you are supposed to be Kenneth. Drink up.

  4. so easy to get caught in the trap of perpetually second-guessing ourselves – and it does us absolutely no good at all. I’ve been thinking a lot about the story of the prodigal son lately. I relate more to the younger son than I do to the elder, but recently it struck me that I had to go through all I have in order to be where I am now. enduring the pain of change – sometimes great pain – does not in any way mean that we’re not doing what we need to do.

    • Yeoldefoole,

      Some days I feel like the older son in the parable you mentioned….and some days I feel like the younger son…..guess it depends on what side of the bed I wake up on : )

  5. Good sharing. But we can look backwards to remember God’s hand upon our lives. That is how I feel and my heart is filled with gratitude. Then I will be strengthened towards the future. Hope this helps 🙂

  6. You know, I found your post really helpful this morning. The past few days, I’ve been plagued by this horrible insomnia, as I find myself thinking about the past. But it’s so true, that it’s better to not look back. Keep moving forward! Good post 😉

  7. Looking back can be a positive thing if was want to learn from our good and bad choices. So looking back for me at times can be good. Regrets..we all have a few!

  8. one of life’s greatest gifts is that is moves forward – how horrible it would be to have to relive things exactly as they happened. lots of great comments on here today for a great post. im horrible at second guessing myself and have been doing kind of a lot of it lately. i kind of refer to it as a comfort zone – we finally get tired of that zone because it’s unfulfilling and yet walking away from it is difficult and then it’s so tempting to just go back to it because it’s comfortable, we know what to expect and reason that it “wasn’t so bad” when it really was. new is uncomfortable and scary but as you said and i totally agree, change is necessary.

  9. It is true don’t look back and I am living proof if I had looked back I would not be doing what I am doing now. I keep looking forward now to the next adventure or what I am going to do next. I have been able to write away just about all of my inhibitions and climb out of depression

  10. I wanted to read at least one blog post today. Guess what? I picked yours! And as usual it was a great read!

  11. Looking backwards only makes you think it is possible to go backwards. In reality, time only goes in one direction. A choice cannot be undone. You can only move from where you are not from where you were. Where you were doesn’t exist anymore. The only decision any of us have to make is not “should I waste my time looking for a time machine”, it is “what is the best thing to do next with what I’ve got”. If you want a proof-text (and I suspect you don’t) it’s from Paul in Philippians “One thing I do, forgetting what is past I push on to the goal…”
    So absolutely don’t look behind except in one sense: if you begin to suspect you made a mistake, at least think how it was you made it and how you can keep from making it again. You can’t undo the mistake, but at least you don’t have to repeat it.

  12. l-o-v-e this post. excellent advice and I like the natural ease in which you write. good reading to start my day ~ thanks! 🙂

  13. I never want to live a “Groundhog Day” for the bad days or the good. A good day lived over and over would lose it’s significance.
    I’ve lived through some pretty shitty situations and sometimes I do look back, the looking back gives me more resolve never to GO back. I am no longer that person, I feel sorry for her and sometimes I hurt for her, but I know she wouldn’t want me to go back either.

Leave a Reply

