Just Today Please…REALLY???

carrying you

by Kenneth Justice ~So much to do so little time….How many of us often feel a tad bit overwhelmed with all that we have going on?

Whenever I visit my various friends in the suburbs I’m not sure whether to be impressed or sad to see their calendars and appointment books filled to overflowing with appointments and tasks that need to be done. A while back I called a friend of mine and asked him if he wanted to go out for coffee and he said, “Kenneth, looking at my appointment book I can’t see any openings in the near future, could you call me in three to four months and check back then?”

Three to four months? Huh??? Hey, I’ll be the first to admit that I tend to be ‘last-minute guy’. I’m not a big fan of having a schedule that is so filled with appointments, meetings, and tasks that I have to tell someone, ‘Call me back in three – four months’. Because, to be honest with you; I’ve been there before. Shortly after graduating High School I worked two jobs; a 9-5 day job, and during the evenings & weekends I worked in (gulp) politics. The political job was high pressure; suit and tie, non-stop meetings, fundraisers, strategy sessions……it was intense. I worked seven days a week for more than a year……. When friends would call me up to get coffee, I was just like my friend; I’d have to check my calendar because my schedule was jammed packed and I had very few openings…..

After a year or so of living life that way; I had enough. It was simply too hectic, too much busyness and not enough time spent with friends and family. However, even though my schedule changed as the years went by, I still had a hard time giving up a behavior that I developed; I worried too much about tomorrow.

Many of us live each day of our life carrying a lot of ‘worry’ around with us;

—) We worry about our children

—) We worry about our significant other

—) We worry about our vocation

We worry, worry, worry One of the bible verses I always had a difficult time understanding when I was younger has to do with something Jesus said, “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own

I struggled with that saying of Jesus because I didn’t understand; how am I not supposed to worry about tomorrow? Isn’t it good that I’m worried about tomorrow and the work I’ve got to get done, my responsibilities, bills, debt, and everything else that goes with the future?

But now that I’m a little bit older I’m beginning to realize; worrying about tomorrow is simply too tiring. Its exhausting. Some people even get sick because they worry about tomorrow. I recall writing an essay in college about people who get sick on Sunday nights because they start thinking about having to go to work the next day.

A business acquaintance of mine has told me repeatedly that the worst day of his week is Sunday night; “My stomach starts getting upset, I feel nauseous, and I have a hard time going to sleep….all because I can’t stop thinking about having to go to work the next morning” he says.

Yet the simple fact of the matter is that as long as I worry about tomorrow; I can’t enjoy the wonderful thing that is today. I know that may sound trite, but as simplistic as it may be….its very true. When we worry about tomorrow it affects our friendships, our family, our children, and more. Worry can cause us to become locked up in paralysis; unable to truly enjoy and live out the day.

Worry is one of the chief issues that is leading so many people throughout the Western World to pop pills. Worry can lead to anxiety, depression, and a whole host of other psychological responses that doctors label “a reason to prescribe you medication”

Yet in the end, we have a choice don’t we? We have the choice to learn how to stop worrying; how to let go of the burdensome thoughts that weigh us down.

There’s nothing wrong with planning for the future; in fact that is a good attitude to have….but worrying about the future can become a problem.

As for me, I’ll have Just Today please, and a coffee to go with it,

Kenneth

 

 



Categories: Culture & Society

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

40 replies

  1. I joked about a book I read called prayers for worry worts. You are right. The worrying is it’s own problem. Worrying can’t make you think clearer or solve problems faster. Yesterday, I got a bit bent out of shape after
    a woman yelled at a business meeting. She was in “the right” but she did not keep her cool and follow through with the process. I called her later to tell her I understood why she blew up. It was a bad deal and I didn’t want her worrying about what we thought. Everyone can have a better day.
    I am going to watch a couple of hundred hot air balloons fly over my back yard. I did not rush off this morning to make a breakfast. We get to put breaks on our own lives, well, to Smell The Coffee..or is that Roses?

  2. I read a book that says worry is a mental activity that blocks out our feelings.And we are afraid to feel….. fear of our feelings is a major problem.I like that idea

  3. If one lives for tomorrow and it is all on his/her mind they miss out on so many things today
    What is a live today when the mind is occupied by tomorrow?

  4. Amen to that….the secret is in 1 Peter 5:7 – Casting all your anxiety on Him because it matters to Him concerning you.” In other words whatever worries you leave in The Lord’s capable hands, have faith, He’ll give you exactly what you need when you need it.

  5. Trying to stay in the moment and experience the here and now has been my goal. Worry is a person’s way to create an illusion of control about what happens tomorrow. Try to enjoy today because tomorrow is just a thought that may never come. Enjoy your weekend.

  6. Right. Often, in our anxiety to reach a destination, we miss the flowers, trees, rivulets and mountains on the way. Living in the present also does not come easily, though.

  7. What I find is that people frame it as what they “have” to do… they “have” to be busy all the time, their kids “have” to be over-scheduled. For most people, it is a choice. We choose to live our lives at a slower pace, with fewer commitments, less rushing around. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

  8. Today is a beautiful Fall day….I will take it and enjoy it just as it is with no strings attached.

  9. I still need to write about my Biloxi experiment lol but one of the things that stands out about that experience is a training session I went to and a guest speaker was recalling speaking to his high school p.e. teacher about the future. The teacher told him that the way he sees it is… if you have one foot in the past and one in the future, you’re pissing on the present. HA! Well, it may be a bit crude but that guy makes a good point. I have a weird complex that I’m exactly like that – one part still preoccupied with the past and another with the future. I try and focus on what a friend told me years ago – there’s no reason to stress life at all. It comes down to two things – you don’t need to worry about the things you can fix because you can fix them; you don’t need to worry about the things you can’t fix because there’s nothing you can do about it, let it go. When put like that, it’s simple but it’s hard to follow. I definitely have found I am happy to have my time to not worry about work, etc. Stressing out is truly bad and why I have more gray hair lol darn it!

  10. By focusing on the tomorrows and the yesterdays we forget the one thing that can influence them…today. The healthy choice is to live for the present and in the present, not in the past or the future. By doing this both past and future will sort themselves out

  11. Just a view from the other side of the fence….Agreed that if you focus too much on tomorrow, you lose the today however many people suffer anxiety and this is very real to them. I’ve suffered the Sunday night sickness. It is real. However, it has taken me a lot of time and hard work to begin to live in the present. Sometimes it isn’t easy though and it’s not just a case of someone saying “don’t worry about it until it happens”.

  12. I feel I’m on the outside, looking in.

    Due to health problems, poverty, and so on, the fast and busy lanes are not an option. Now, I do struggle with worry; it’s a bad family tradition, after all. But overwhelmingly busy, nope, I can’t do it. I look for community and… nope, people are wrapped hard into their jobs, family, etc. It gets really frustrating at church: I’ve heard “when is it going to be someone else’s turn?” “I’m tired of doing all the work”, various complaints about being spread too thin, not enough resources, and honest, I’m not paraphrasing too much, if at all.

    That is not how I learned it, so, I push through the pain, walk funny, make phone calls, do what I can. I keep chasing “lost causes” because I don’t want anyone to be left behind. That’s the other thing, sometimes I get told, “Well, they are just going to have to decide to participate” or something vaguely along those lines. Nope. Not acceptable.

    • It seems like you’re headed in the right direction though as you are aware of these things and you’re thinking through them…it’s the people that don’t ever to bother thinking about these issues that im concerned for

  13. That is so true. I think if we worry about what is going to happen, we miss what is actually happening.

  14. Ah yes, worry. Of all the gifts we humans have, worrying seems to be among the top three! I have a friend who worries about worrying too much.
    One day while reading the book of Philippians i found the following verses that changed my life completely. Philippians 4:6-7 ~ Don’t worry over anything whatever; tell God every detail of your needs in earnest and thankful prayer, and the peace of God which transcends human understanding, will keep constant guard over your hearts and minds as they rest in Christ Jesus.

  15. I also worked two jobs, was a single parent, wrote and performed poetry (see my about page on my blog for more info) until I suffered from a ruptured brain aneurysm on Nov 10th (sorry if I told you that before) …

    I didn’t understand how it happened which led me to question WHY it happened. It wasn’t until I was writing a post one day that it hit me. I was OVERLOADED and God took that opportunity to slow me down.

    I often joke that He didn’t have to damn near kill me to do it; but maybe He did. Because I wouldn’t have listened. If I had broken my leg, I would have just walked with crutches, arm, type with the cast on…etc

    I have been on long term disability for a while, and my life has DRASTICALLY slowed down. I was upset about it for a while until I realized that in losing my “mind” I found my “inner self”.

    Do I worry? Yeah but only because I get scared when I get a headache now.

    I never worry about tomorrow though because I am so thankful to SEE it.

    But I ramble…thank you again!!!

  16. Let the worry to drive us to plan the future then we will feel at ease as we continue to trust in Jesus

    >

Trackbacks

  1. Just Today Please…REALLY??? « The Culture Monk | Hey Sweetheart, Get Me Rewrite!
  2. Day 21: Week three review and my favourite blogs& posts! 71 days to go! | My journey on becoming full-time designer.

Leave a Reply

