Your life doesn’t have to be crazy…REALLY???

always hope for tomorrow

by Kenneth Justice

~ Yesterday at coffee a mid-fiftyish woman standing behind me in line at the counter asked if she could buy me a cup of coffee…..never one to turn down a free cup I obliged, “So is there a special occasion for you buying a cup of coffee for a stranger?” I asked

The woman ended up sitting down with my friend and I for an hour and told us her story, turns out that she was very excited about her upcoming wedding which was happening the next day, “All throughout my 20’s and 30’s I was your average young person whose life was filled with a lot of dead-ends….I wasn’t ever seriously depressed, but I was also never very happy…..I kind of muddled through multiple decades aimlessly with very little purpose” she said

As her story progressed she told us about dating many different guys trying to find ‘that perfect someone’….some of the guys she dated were losers (they were abusive) other guys were nice (but she never felt any affection for them).

“I wasn’t an alcoholic per se….but honestly, I drank a lot because I didn’t know what else to do with myself; there really wasn’t a particular moment when my life started to turn around. I guess it was simply a series-of-moments throughout a period of time in which I slowly started making better decisions” she said

I love to read biographies and memoirs and I’ve noticed quite often the way in which authors tell their life-stories by focusing on some singular point; a particular day when everything changed and their sobriety or new-way-of-life began…..but for most us our maturity takes place gradually.

After my stint working at the Rehab-clinic (which was preceded by my time working in the county jail) the truth of the matter is that I’ve heard enough “sex, drugs, and rock-N-roll’ stories to last a lifetime……and while I enjoy reading books and listening to stories by people who’ve lived those ‘lives-on-the-edge’……sadly; our cultural tendency is too often designed around propping up the people who have lived ridiculously raucous lives and making it seem like those are the only stories worth telling.

For most of us, we have not found ourselves in an abandoned warehouse shooting up heroin with strangers we’ve only just met; for most of us our lives don’t have those incredible-crazy moments which Lifetime Films create movies about….and that is okay…because its okay if our life doesn’t feel like a Hollywood Movie;

—-) It’s okay if we didn’t meet our significant other on the top of the Empire State Building on New Years Eve

—-) It’s okay if we didn’t work as a hit man for the mob and didn’t hang out drinking wine with Al Pacino and Marlon Brandon

—-) It’s okay if our mental illness didn’t land us in an all women’s mental institution where Wynona Ryder and Angelina Jolie were hanging out

It’s okay if the story-of-our-life is about simple and gradual moments of maturation; because for most of us that is what life is about. Many of us go through our 20s and 30s trying to figure it all out…..and its only till we get a little bit older that we realize we’ve started to finally grow up.

For me, being such a religious a&$ hole when I was younger….there wasn’t one grand moment of realization when I finally understood that I was entirely misguided about my understanding of Jesus; it took many different experiences and reading many different books for me to finally begin growing up and realizing that I wasn’t really loving other people; I was merely talking at them.

It took me a long time to realize that being a follower of Jesus had nothing to do with trying to ‘convert’ other people…it has everything to do with accepting people with where they are at and loving them. Does that mean I should condone bad behavior? No….but it does mean that I’m not the ‘moral police’; it’s not my responsibility to walk around telling people that what they are doing is ‘wrong’ or trying to ramrod my opinions down other people’s throats.

And so my own maturation took many years; I definitely would not say that I’ve ‘arrived’ because I still see so many areas in my life that are filled with glaring globs of immaturity….but that’s okay.

For all of us who love the movies….and I LOVE the movies….its easy to let Hollywood shape our philosophy when it comes to love, life, and all the ins-and-outs of becoming an adult. But perhaps too many of us have allowed Hollywood to influence us too much. Perhaps, instead of focusing so much on those people whose lives are supposedly ‘crazy and wild’……maybe its time to start supporting those people whose lives are about simple incremental growth.

Perhaps we should teach our children that its ‘baby steps’ that matter…….Just as Bill Murray learned in “What About Bob“; life isn’t always about ‘come to Jesus moments’…but rather; life is about those baby steps…those little steps we make each day that help bring us to greater maturation.

The Internet and blogging world is filled with writers who believe their lives and stories are so ‘exciting’ and ‘crazy’….but we don’t really need anymore of those…do we? Honestly…those kind of authors don’t really appeal to me very much anymore; like I said, I’ve heard enough of those stories to last a lifetime.

—) Isn’t it time we start valuing the people who’ve lived the ‘slow and steady’ lives?

—) Isn’t it about time we start valuing the people who’ve devoted their lives to study and thinking about the more important things of life?

—) Isn’t it about time we start valuing teachers, professors, and philosophers instead of movie stars, athletes, and singers?

Just a few thoughts on my mind as I sip my coffee this morning….

Kenneth

 

 

 



Categories: Culture & Society

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

109 replies

  1. I love the movies, too. And your writing. Thanks for this post.

  2. Oh I am so with you on his one 🙂
    Great post, great message and so damn true

  3. GREAT AND MEANINGFUL QUESTIONS 😉

  4. My favorite word “of the post” today is devoted (to set apart to some purpose). I am most devoted to learning in the many areas I did not concentrate on before.My science studies, careers and family were very enjoyable devotions I had for decades. I believe that maturity is feeling drawn to thinking about the most important things in life.

  5. You’re so right that finding out who you are, including finding out who you are in Christ, is a long journey.

  6. “What we think about is what we do.” If you think negative………………………..,…..

    My brother used to say.to say, “We are the masters of our own disasters.”

    Regards and good will blogging..

  7. Great topic! It suits me..life doesn’t have to be crazy, but it is 😀 last night was my movie night, peaceful mind.. “Merlin” the power of love
    Hope your coffee taste good as mine:)

  8. It’s okay to be crazy time to time, doing something without planning is what I call craziness. I admire very much Michelle Pheiffer, but this does not make me a greedy fan. I have no idea how is her life… Does this make me superficial or less of a fan? No.
    Kenneth, I think the maturity isn’t good at all. I see too many things I dislike now, being young there is no time to be lost.

    • I agree Dana: I also want to always stay young at heart 🙂

    • I admire Michelle Pfeiffer, too. My wife and I really love Grease 2, which was supposedly her big break. And I like your idea of fandom– some people enjoy getting into personal details of musicians’ and actors’ lives, but I don’t. I’ve met a few; they are just people like you and me.

      I think there is a balance between being young at heart and mature. I think parenthood helps me the most with this– I can play with my children with young, vibrant thoughts, but, I still have to practice mature discipline, set a good example, etc.

    • I hadnt thought of Michelle pfeiffer in quite awhile until last week I saw this movie with her and Robert deniro that recently came out and as I sat there watching it I realized how much I like her as an actress….not that it matters but damn she still looks good and she’s been an actress forever it seems….

    • Cheers to that young heart! I have less experince in parenthood field even though if I’m around kids I like to give them the idea they are equal me as I know how much they like and how important is to treat them like grownups, the efect is, they adore me.

    • “though if I’m around kids I like to give them the idea they are equal me as I know how much they like and how important is to treat them like grownups, the efect is, they adore me.”

      good for you 🙂

  9. Great post with a lot of food for thought. I don’t know why these extreme stories are considered so appealing that writers have been known to concoct fake memoirs about their terrible life experiences. I certainly don’t want to read about that, but a lot of people do. What is the appeal?

    • I’ve noticed a number of newer blogs in the past couple months in which the authors are obsessed with writing about their “crazy” life….it gets a bit tiresome after awhile…..I’m not saying people r wrong to write like that: but simply that I can only handle small doses of those kind of writings

  10. Isn’t it time we start to value to simple and little things in life again.

  11. Just like playing Snakes and Ladders. Never going to make the news, but tell/listen your own ladders or snakes to someone else? We all have moments.

  12. I like the idea of being yourself and being honest. But I have a question for you; did you think it was odd that a woman who was getting married the next day sat down with complete strangers (men) to tell her story? For an hour? Brides usually don’t have that much time, if any at all before the wedding. And to sit down with another man?

    • Lol no…actually she and the fiancé were flying to Hawaii the next day to get married, I think it was only going to be her and a couple of their friends on the beach 🙂

    • God forbid a woman interact with the opposite sex without having an ulterior motive. Society has built up this opinion that if a woman speaks, or looks in a man’s general direction, she must be interested in some sort of “romantic” relationship. It is quite possible to carry on a conversation or even a friendship for that matter with someone of the opposite sex. Just a thought 🙂

    • I know; I hear what you are saying. I have many men friends myself. It’s just that the day before you get married, or in this case fly off to get married, most brides are busy preparing. That’s all. I just think it is odd that she had this much time to spend talking to someone outside of the wedding party.

    • I see what you mean. I wish I had time to talk to someone outside of my wedding party the day before. Maybe they would have slapped me back into reality. Ha.

  13. heck yeah! I haven’t even had my coffee yet and I can hear the truth in that one 😉 enjoy your rather non Hollywood day

  14. geee . . . that’s kind of a hit to us guys who lived their whole lives on the edge, ain’t it? Man I wouldn’t know normal if it bit me on the ass . . . 🙂

  15. Yes, indeed…I agree completely. Very great post and thanks for sharing. Something truly to think about for many of us. Amen

  16. In our day to day lives we sometimes forget that life truly consists of the little things. We are so focused on the next big thing, the next feeling of excitement or the next life-changing-scene that we forget about the wonderful mundane everyday life. I supposed you could consider me an example of the woman in your post who realizes that she’s slowly grown up. I have also piddled through my life. As the woman you spoke of I have spent life drinking and pretty much wasting my time because I had nothing better to do. I’ve been married twice, divorced twice and I now raise my four children alone. I’ve had the fairy tale loves that raced through the middle of the night to do nothing more than say “I love you”. I’ve had the Casanova who has shown up unexpectedly with flowers in hand. Obviously, since I’m 30 and still single, those loves weren’t so much love but more the Hollywood moments you speak of. In my slowly growing mind I’ve come to realize what true love is. I’ve come to learn that slow and mundane is the best part of life. Waking up to four children that I get to raise and love is my main stream life. I’ve realized that being “in love” may be something that I actually haven’t felt even though I’ve fooled myself several times into thinking that it was some magical thing. The magic of it is that it usually happens slowly. It’s not based on flowers, jewelry or fake romantic actions. It’s based on a steady stream of commitment that is solid and takes time to build. I’m now leading my life contently single and focusing on what is most important…. and it’s not me.

    • Dude, my heart totally goes out to you: a single mom juggling a career and four children..holy cow dude, I can’t imagine how busy your life must get at times….and then to have to occasionally think about those a$$ hole ex’s….gosh, dude…I’m impressed by people like yourself that are still able to find the time to read and have personal time….

    • Eh, it’s just what I do. I wouldn’t go so far as to call it personal time. I’d call it more of concentrating on what I’m writing/reading hard enough to drown out the screams, giggles and flying objects around me. If I couldn’t write about my ADHD daughter I’d probably loose my mind. Even if no one ever reads my blog it’s my outlet. And a lot of my posts happen in the dead of night. I wake up to make a bottle (I have two still in diapers!) and mid-shake I think of an ironic moment from the day or a clever comment about daily life. Usually I can’t even go to sleep unless I write down my thought.

  17. Somewhere along the way, I noticed I was a slow-learner. (Sometimes, even needing to repeat lessons!) Thank you for normalizing all that 🙂

  18. Great post as always, but I’m afraid as I keep telling my story you may push the “unfollow” button lol!

    • Well, there’s a difference between writing what is real…and writing merely for the sake of sensationalism…and perhaps I didn’t clarify myself in the article enough but when I was writing it I had in mind a couple bloggers who are merely trying to be sensationalistic for the sake of attracting more readers.

    • I got you…it’s just that some of my memoir stories are a bit “out there”. My first therapist ever, she was an intern, said she didn’t think things like that happened in real life, just on t.v. She went home in tears after our first session. I write for me. I actually surprised when anyone cares to read it.

  19. Outstanding post…really, well done!

  20. Excellant! Thanks, I learned something this morning and it makes missing church worthwhile.

  21. I often wonder if I’m one of those people you write about but I don’t think so. If I am set me straight. I appreciate your insight of the world and those within it.

    • in response to another reader above- I tried to clarify myself, in the article I wasn’t thinking of bloggers who are merely writing the ‘reality’ of their lives….but rather there are a number of bloggers who I’ve noticed in recent months are merely being sensationalistic for the sake of sensationalism and growing their blog; and I’m not gonna mention their names but they write in such a way that they make it sound like their ‘crazy life’ is so much better, exciting, etc than everybody else’s lives…..hopefully that helps everyone better understand what I was trying to say 🙂

  22. This post reminds me of the saying, “Dare to be average.”

    Again, well said! – the little things add up. This morning, I was just fluffing our Christmas tree before I read your post – and reading your post was exactly what I had in mind as I worked with the tree (side note, we are not that into certain parts of Christmas -but have decided to still put up a tree (mainly because the ornaments take us down memory lane – and well, we decided not to upgrade our tree and just keep the one from the 90’s – but it means that it takes a while to get it back into shape — and at first 0 it always looks so deformed -(and is actually).
    Well it only takes about a half hour to fluff this tree- but it starts off looking hopeless. And sometimes I do not even know where to start! But then I bend one branch – then another gets straightened out – and pretty soon sections are filled in – and how gratifying it is to bend or straighten the final branches in the last five minutes where all branches are adjusted “just so”. This reminded me of how the small things add up – and how we have to start somewhere when making improvements – and then reading your post added to this reflection – with your poignant note about how most folks tend to minimize the slow and steady – or how we just miss the beauty of “simple and gradual moments” of maturation (although I accidentally read that “m” word incorrectly – and put an s and a b in there – ha ha – because your posts sometimes talk about topics like that – ha ha – but again, well said – especially the importance of baby steps. May the Lord’s peace and strength be with you this December day…..

    • well I love Christmas trees so kudos to you for still putting one up 🙂 ….Christmas is a tough topic because I can relate to all the people who are upset with how materialistic it has become and yet on the other hand it is so connected to our childhoods that to entirely ignore it would somehow disconnect us from our youth….it is one of those tough issues in life that we have to grapple with and find some kind of balance .

  23. I agree with you on many points…
    yet one I see differently…admiring athletes and movie stars is absurd..full agreement..yet what about those who have not the option of living the slow steady path..? How do we look at those who have wished for that life..but have had to live life in gasps of breathe…do they not also get out approval..our moment of significance..for still remaining whole…solid…just a question to mull over coffee…

    • Authormandycarroll,

      great thoughts…and I actually wrote this article in conjunction with the one I published today; my goal was to try and show both sides of the equation so I am 100% on board with what you are getting at 🙂

  24. Crazy just seems to find me, but I pray and strive daily for “normal”. Thank you for addressing this issue!

  25. Oh, if only we could love teachers more than sports stars, and philosophers more than rock stars! :::raises toasting cup of coffee:::

  26. Love your posts, especially when you mention teachers and intelligent people deserving more recognition. As an aspiring educator, I appreciate that. And I agree with your definition of following Jesus wholeheartedly. Keep ’em coming! 🙂

  27. Kudos for the “What about Bob?” reference! Will we identify with Murray’s Bob, who has an irritating personality wrapped up in hypochronia and OCD– but takes those baby steps to overcome his obstacles and become a member of the family? Or will we identify with Dreyfuss’s Dr. Leo, who becomes a gibbering wreck trying to control Bob, as one of his patients?

    I’ve been around a lot of Dr. Leos in my life, even in my family. But following the path of Bob, I think, seems to be a more solid plan. Even my physician likes the idea of me taking “baby steps”, even though I’m tempted to pull a Dr. Leo now and then.

    • Actually I don’t really identify with either of those two….when I watch the movie I always connect more with the wife and her quest to try to find the balance between loving both the Husband and also treating Bob with decency and respect 🙂 …and I’m not saying that with some kind of lofty air…but from the time I first saw the movie as a kid I understood why Dreyfuss’s character couldn’t stand Bob…and I also could see things from Bob’s point of view too….and the only person that seems to come off with the most balanced approach was the wife.

    • Fair enough… it’s been years since I saw it, and I didn’t remember that aspect.

      My point, though, was avoiding the two extremes anyways. There are probably many who identify with the wife– but relatively few that acknowledge there might be some Bob in them, and much, much fewer that recognize Dr. Leo’s flaws in themselves. But I have been in mental health for 29 years, Kenneth. I see enough of Bob *and* Dr. Leo in the mirror, as well as around me. Fortunately, I do have family and friends like the wife, who love me anyways.

  28. Powerful stuff! I love your blog so far!

  29. Conflict is at the heart of drama (no one wants to watch a movie about someone going to work peacefully, having a nice uneventful evening, then going to bed) but I think in real life, the simple pleasures can be the most wonderful. Many people envy the excitement of celebrity, for example, but then so many celebrities seem to be deeply unhappy that we should perhaps reconsider whether fame and excitement really brings happiness.

    • “Conflict is at the heart of drama (no one wants to watch a movie about someone going to work peacefully, having a nice uneventful evening, then going to bed)”

      I agree in part; conflict is definitely a major component of most drama’s…but I’m also a bit of a nut who spends half my movie watching time spent on Indie flicks where as my friends say, ‘nothing ever happens’….lol….some of my favorite movies are extremely simple….

      but I also LOVE crazy movies too!

    • Well, that’s because the conflict is smaller/less visually extreme in those Indie movies… Someone having an identity crisis as opposed to a bunch if buildings blowing up, haha…. But it is still conflict 🙂

  30. I agree, Kenneth. It seems that normal progress is boring to so many, possibly too much reality for them.

    • ” It seems that normal progress is boring to so many, possibly too much reality for them”

      we are all so different….and while I wouldn’t ever want to judge others for saying ‘normal progress is boring’ I do think its important for us to tell them that just because they feel that way doesn’t mean we have to feel that way 🙂

    • Yes, I agree no judgment here either. I try to make a seamingly boring life look appealing. I can’t help it if they don’t bite. 🙂

  31. Whenever someone asks me to tell my testimony, I’m conflicted. I’ve been a Christian since birth and I’ve come to the way I am over time with lots of little epiphanies and basically, I don’t have a story. I tend to say yes and do that exact thing, tell everyone that I’m just a work in progress and most likely, I’m never going to be done because who ever really is? There is no big climax/conclusion to my story. I’m just going along doing the best I can and being the best I can and trying to keep an open mind about myself and others and all my ideals. I think if I built a wall of perfectly drawn conclusions about life around myself, and one of those blocks was pulled out, I would be a mess under alot of loose brick. Maybe that’s why I have never felt like my life came crumbling down, because I’m fluid.

    • Callie,

      great comments. You’ve expressed what a lot of people feel….because too often our culture props up the people who have lived ‘crazy lives’ and makes it seem that their stories are ‘worth telling’ but that people like yourself and your stories are not….its too bad because I believe their is value in hearing everybody’s stories…and sometimes its better to hear from the people who have not lived the ‘crazy life’ and who haven’t had the ‘crazy stories’ because we can learn more from them and how they have kept a steady pace throughout their life.

  32. This whole article is why my favorite blogs are about average people living average lives. It’s not the events of their lives as much as they way they present their lives that I find entertaining. I think these writers have mastered something we should all be working towards. They’ve found excitement and thrill in the actions of their typical life.

    A teach in high school once told me she wish she faced more adversity in life because people who become famous always seem to have done so. Yet, even those celebrities are showing off what is their normal life in a thrilling way.

    • “They’ve found excitement and thrill in the actions of their typical life. ”

      exactly!

      …and I went to your site yesterday and got bummed out cuz it was down!!! lol congrats though on finally getting your own Dot Com…always a special moment no matter what others think 😉

    • Aw, I didn’t think anyone even noticed it was down. It was only out for an hour or so. I was impressed with how easy the whole transition was.

      It’s truly thrilling, getting your own Dot Com ^_^

  33. I agree with your point, maturity is a process, growing, like a tree, first seem meaningless “nothing”, although the very definite value and purpose are already in that tiny creature. And with time, without being aware of a definite moment, it grows enough for bird nests, and bears fruits and gives shelter.
    So as we are, without “switches” -since we are not robots-, we grow with ups and downs, but steadily, and it depends only on us, to what extent we live up for our potential…

    I also love films, and these are valuable tools to show examples, guide us, enlarge a common, particular situation where righteous decisions should/must be made, and so on. However, if they only/main message is to “switch off” with some extremes, I hardly can imagine they can contribute our growing.
    And well, looking around, lack of maturation -in heart and mind, acts- is the main reason of the troubles all around…

    At least, we need to embrace each other with words, kindness, help and effort.

    • “However, if they only/main message is to “switch off” with some extremes, I hardly can imagine they can contribute our growing.”

      totally agree. While I love movies that have ‘extreme crazy’ plots…I also love movies that are simple…one of the best movies I’ve seen this past year spent the first 51 minutes of the film in absolutely drudgery; it was two characters just sitting and talking and talking and talking…endlessly talking! Then at the 51 minute mark when you’re entirely worn out from them talking; all of a sudden the one picks up a gun and WHAM! The whole movie takes an incredible twist and the last 51 minutes is extremely fast paced….

  34. Such a great post! I’ve has those exact same thoughts many a time.

    There have been times in my life when I’ve actually found myself thinking, Am I doing something wrong, here? If I want to be a “serious” writer, do I really need to have more sex and drink more or try heroin or something? Of course, that’s when I was a lot younger and less experienced, but I know you get my point. Truth is, my life has been pretty tame, but I wouldn’t ever call it boring. There is beauty to be found in every life, in the smallest of moments…and not all of them come about by being scraped utterly raw.

    So glad you “liked” the poem I posted, and I was able to find you and read these words. Looking forward to more!

    • “Am I doing something wrong, here? If I want to be a “serious” writer, do I really need to have more sex and drink more or try heroin or something?”

      I know of a couple famous writers who before they became famous intentionally did crazy shit just so they could write about it….that kind of thing while I’m not going to judge them for it…for me I couldn’t do it because I would feel like I was sacrificing my integrity

  35. “What About Bob” is one of my all-time favorite flicks! Love it! The baby steps thing is hilarious… yet… I agree. It’s so true and certainly a good way of going about certain things. I think our value of things is warped partly by what we see in the movies or advertisements but we’ve learned over time to get a warped idea of what the American Dream is… hell this is nothing new. F. Scott Fitzgerald explores the idea of the American Dream in “The Great Gatsby” and sadly we learn that obtaining fame and fortune really weren’t the answers to getting what Gatsby really wanted. People have for along time thought that living wild and free is somehow super great, but truth is… even being a celebrity isn’t always what it’s cracked up to being. The lack of any privacy because being a public figure means people can intrude in your life, yellow journalists (not real journalists in my opinion) can virtually write whatever they want (or almost) about you and not face consequences, etc. That’s not the dream to me. Ick. People for a very long time have thought “things” can make life great but that’s not true. I one thing I see as being a good thing of a poor economy, it is helping, at least some people, to remember the TRUE valuable things in life. People who have been forced to downsize begin to realize what they really need in life to make things good. That may not be true but seems like it is because you can see it being reflected in some movies/music now. Remember, while pop culture may influence us, we also very much influence pop culture. The way I see, there’s hope. 🙂

    • did you see the movie great Gatsby that came out? I still haven’t seen it yet…

      “even being a celebrity isn’t always what it’s cracked up to being. The lack of any privacy because being a public figure means people can intrude in your life….”

      okay Jen, so this is on the really bottom of the scale when it comes to ‘lack of privacy’ but the other day I was sitting at coffee and this person walks over to me, “Hey, aren’t u the dude who writes that blog??” LMAO!

    • Oh Kenneth… be careful! You’re becoming a big time celebrity now… before long the paparazzi will be after you 🙂 I haven’t seen the new Gatsby but I did see the one with Robert Redford; read the book and did a paper on it in high school. It was a great book, but sad; tragic.

  36. Love this post… Bought a sign for my kitchen today that says ‘Forget Romeo & Juliet, True Love is a Love Story that never ends’ ❤ x

  37. So happy I found your blog, I’m really loving it & agree with this post completely.

  38. Waiting, while I have my cup of tea … to see, what you think today at coffee. ;D

  39. I love this concept, and I think about it all the time. Movies and stories have to cut out the mundane day-to-day stuff that really leads to our personal growth. So when we are constantly bombarded by that type of information, we expect that it’s normal to have these big eureka moments that shape our lives. In reality, it’s showing up everyday with an intention and consistently doing small things that move us towards that intention that leads us to results, maturity, whatever it is. There’s no magic pill, no single special moment. Great reminder!

  40. This is a great post with a lot of great points, because I agree that we do measure ourselves against a lot of ridiculous measures. Part of this may simply be because of the self-worth bias we have that tells us that we are special and not average. When in fact most of us are rather sort of the average. It doesn’t mean we aren’t necessarily the sort of have wild and crazy events in our lives, which is fine because fun and happiness are not necessarily a function of extreme events. I recently blogged about something similar about the value of vigilance http://cloakunfurled.com/2013/11/22/vigilance/. I think you’ll find many similar themes to what you describe in your post.

    Ultimately I think the appearance of this big events is somewhat illusory. That even when they happen they are still a result of a lot of slow incremental changes. In science we talk about periods of scientific revolution. Where a discovery led to a whole paradigm shift to how the science was done. As an example Newton’s discovery of the law gravitation, or Einstein’s Theory of Relativity. There is not question they did lead to big change, but the leap could never have been made without the work of many scientists beforehand making incremental improvements in our understanding of the world. They provided the springboard if you will for Einstein to jump off of. You else tend to find that a lot of other scientists at the time were also very close to a similar discovery so I think how history is reported, just how someone’s life is reported in a book or movie is not necessarily how it all happens. When an ice shelf melts it is a series of small amounts of water trickling into the ocean or evaporating in the air, before a huge chunk all of sudden falls off and floats away as an iceberg. Evolution itself is the story of how small incremental changes can go from single celled organisms to Neil Degrasse Tyson. In my own life’s there have been those moments, epiphanies possibly, where I felt transformed instantly, but when I reflect, that epiphany could not have occurred without a series of experiences happening slowly over time. I think real change is slow, and I think even what we perceive as a big event is no more remarkable or magical than anything else and is also a result of slow boring events! 🙂

  41. Hi. Your post reminds me of the sermon on the mount. Blessed are the humble, the meek, the peacemakers, the searchers. The world blesses the proud, the achievers, the warmongers, the “I have made its”. I agree with you and Jesus. God bless the ordinary and the plain, the average and the sane.

  42. As one of the most boring sinners of all time, I am totally with you on this. The gospel is for boring people too.

  43. Great thoughts here. I like the way that you put things.

    Blessings,
    Theresa

Trackbacks

  1. Putting others in our box…REALLY??? « The Culture Monk

Leave a Reply

