Staying committed sucks…REALLY???

New Image

By Kenneth Justice

Kenneth, my husband absolutely hates being a lawyer!” she said

~ I was enjoying a coffee the other day when one of my acquaintances sat down at my table, “Kenneth, you always seem so happy and laid back, what kind of work do you do?” she said …..clearly she must only run into me on my good days.

Are you looking to change jobs” I asked her

No, its not me; my husband absolutely hates being a lawyer, after all the time and money we devoted to his schooling it’s been four years since he passed the bar exam and he loathes every minute of it” she said

According to the woman, her husband as a twenty-something had bought into the Hollywood hype surrounding the law-field; he wanted to be a lawyer because it looked fun and exciting. Perhaps he watched movies like The Firm with Tom Cruise or The Rain Maker with Matt Damon and had visions of high profile tort cases or being a defender of the wrongfully persecuted,

The majority of what my husband has to do is sales and paperwork; he has to try and get customers by selling his services and when he does finally get a case he didn’t realize how much work it would be to write bills and get the customers to pay on time. Being a lawyer isn’t anything like they show on television or in the movies” she said

As I sat there listening to her I couldn’t help but wonder how much influence Hollywood films have on our lives. For instance, when it comes to relationships Hollywood is awesome at showing us the couple falling in love; but the story usually ends with that final kiss as the credits role. Very few films show us what life is like after they fall in love.

And just as Hollywood fails in showing us what life is like after that final kiss; Hollywood also tends to fail at showing us the daily ins and outs of a 9 to 5 job. Most jobs are not exciting; in fact, the overwhelming majority of jobs are rather tedious……and tend to involve hard work.

One of my closest coffee house friends recently retired from teaching; he was a high school teacher for more than 30 years and he will tell you that the first year or two was pretty awesome; but by the time he arrived at year three he began to realize that teaching is just like anything else; it’s a job. Sure, there can be very satisfying moments in teaching, such as working with students and seeing them progress…..but ultimately, having to get up every morning to do the same thing over and over, day after day, involves commitment and determination.

I’m hardly the first person to observe that Western Society is permeated by a fast-food mentality; we want what we want now! And in our obsession with expediency I feel that we are losing the recognition that the best things in life are the things that take time. Sure, the opening credits of our relationship or job can be fun and exciting……but it’s the people who make it beyond the opening scenes that are able to reflect on the true beauty of it all.

In my private life I am obsessed with art. I can hang out at the museum for hours and stare at paintings. One of the things that often goes through my mind as I stare at a Picasso or Renoir is the sheer magnitude of time that it took these great painters to finish their works. A piece of art if it can be created in 3 minutes isn’t very special…….but a work of art that the artist painfully slaved over demonstrates their passion and commitment.

And I wonder if we have forgotten that little lesson in relation to our jobs; perhaps we have bought into a lie that every minute at work during the day is supposed to be filled with intense moments of excitement and gratification. Yet if we were to talk to Michelangelo and asked him what the experience was like in painting the Sistine Chapel I suspect he would tell us about how difficult it was, the tedious nature of the work, and how exhausted he felt at the end of each day.

I’m reminded of the famous quote attributed to Confucius, “All good things are difficult to achieve, and the bad things are very easy to get

I’m three days away from arriving in Atlanta on the first part of my U.S. coffee house tour and the realization that this year will involve a lot of work is ever present in my mind. A few of my friends have called me recently to tell me how exciting it must be to travel to so many places; yet just like anything else things may seem all fun and exciting in the beginning…….but the success of any venture in life depends on whether or not we stay committed to it after the excitement fades to grey.

The sun is rising here in the Midwest and I think I’ll have another coffee,

Kenneth

—-If you haven’t heard I’m visiting coffee shops all across North American and Europe this year to meet with readers and bloggers; I’d love to have coffee with you! I will be in Atlanta this weekend! Check out my homepage for dates and locations.



Categories: Culture & Society

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

64 replies

  1. I went to law school with the expectation of working with children who needed legal advocacy. I was inspired in this by my mom’s attorney, not so much by Hollywood. Still, I was motivated by perception of end results rather than thoughts of specific daily tasks of the job.

    As I neared the end of the first year of law school, I realized the kind of work was not well suited to me. I faced the debate whether to continue or cut my losses. I decided to continue, a decision I wasn’t sure was right for some time but now am okay with. I enjoy working in an area that requires some legal knowledge with my actual tasks being in other realms. If you’d told the me of a decade ago (only three months from graduating law school!), I would have laughed at the idea I’d enjoy working with software contracts . . . yet here I am, and I do.

  2. I would say more, and perhaps will later. Now, I have to get on the road to my job.
    The problem of what I call “positive facism” is not exclusive to Hollywood. Many people like to glorify the positive, and deny that anything non wonderful exists. Jesus worshipers are some of the worst.
    The trouble is, when the going gets dull, many people think it is a sign of weakness. If their role model does this without boredom, it must be something wrong with me. This is a problem.

  3. Great post on a topic that affects us all. Agree with chamblee54. Never thought of it before, but so true. That “positive fascism” will bring you down.

  4. ‘Beyond the opening scenes’…I like that line and the way it sums up the beginning of something new, Kenneth. The whole paragraph, actually. There’s a reason we have a word for work and a word for fun. I do however love when they become one. I guess that’s how the word hobby came into play. 🙂

    Sounds to me like she should let her husband off the hook. Plenty of time to try something new.

    Art is great, huh? 🙂

  5. Never mind Hollywood – for umpteen years fairy tales have ended with the phrase ‘and they lived happily ever after’… children are read/told that over and over again, and are ‘brainwashed’ into believing it is true and the expected outcome of any situation, marriage etc etc.
    All professions have boring areas, but if you are determined you can steer yourself gradually to the area of work you want to be involved with, it will not be a walk in the park, because a job is a job is a job!
    As for Michelangelo – I read somewhere that painting the Sistine Chapel ceiling did his back in (as we say in the UK) poor chap, there is nothing worse than chronic back pain.

    Have fun in Atlanta, looking forward to your experiences there.

    • “all professions have boring areas…”

      Exactly….i wonder how well a job we do at teaching that to children though. Do they grow up realizing that work is… well…’ work’?

  6. I think one of the reasons people go stale in the profession is they never really found what they were passionate about. It might not be exactly what they thought. For example, I never dreamed of being a teacher and although I enjoyed teaching, my passion was on creating a school, which allowed me to stay through the ups and downs of it.

    I am a driven person when it comes to work. I have had three major jobs, prior to what I currently do. In each job, I was dedicated to the work. In each job, the thing that pushed me out the door was conflict with bosses. One would not support me in handling problematic situations with students. One screamed at me daily (literally). And the last failed to discipline staff to the point of being a huge liability to the company.

    Just like in a relationship, everyone is bound to have a “deal breaker” situation connected to work. All of the above jobs were completely different but I liked what I did…until I decided to stop doing it. People who do contract work are used to changing it up. I don’t think we are in the era of one job being a career anymore. That was our parents or grandparents time. Change is okay as long as the person changing has the right attitude about it. I do feel that really working hard at something tends to make it more rewarding.

    • “one screamed at me daily”

      Holy cow, I don’t know how anyone puts up with abuse like that in the workplace…. its unacceptable for people to act that way.

      “I am a driven person”

      I think that helps; some people are simply not very goal oriented and therefore they have a difficult time sticking through things

    • I wonder if you’re right about people not finding what they’re passionate about. I don’t know if anyone would say I’ve had a career yet. I spent a little over five years in the military (and attained the highest rank possible in that time, qualifications, etc.), but thought the grass must be greener in the civilian world. Now, a little over a year later, I’ve done some extra traveling (again, not AS exciting when you’ve been doing it for a while) and gone back to school. I need to pick a major, but yeah, I don’t know what I’m passionate about! I like lots of things, but passion? I hope you’re right about job changing being okay, but at the same time, it seems like most of the fields I’m really interested require advanced degrees. I think some of the more technical things then, people get “locked in.” I mean, you don’t get a Ph.D. in chemistry, then ten years later go start all over again so you can work in finance. Or maybe some do. I don’t know. Like I said, I think a lot of people do struggle with the passion thing, and I hope you’re right about changing jobs. :/ Otherwise I might just go back to the Navy (where maybe most people don’t know, you actually get assigned to do lots of jobs that have nothing to do with your job, and sometimes you can switch jobs altogether).

    • Two thoughts… You invest time and money into getting your PHD only to find that you hate the work… What do you do… Suffer for the rest of your life? I think High School internships are a way to help people test out a field before investing time and money into a degree.

      I too, have been lucky enough to do lots of different things with each job I had. I really was never bored but having a passion or at least something that is mentally stimulating can do a lot when faced with the rough times.

  7. I could go to work every day, even if it was boring/tedious/hard, as long as I felt that I was appreciated. I see a trend happening in western culture jobs where the top end of the employment chain feels like they are doing people a favor by employing them. They feel like recognition for hard work, or recognition for the commitment someone has made to show up on time and work a mundane routine, is a waste of their time and something to avoid doing as it may encourage those workers to feel as if they deserve some type of raise/bonus that would cut into the continuous record profits the companies report. When you work a job that’s boring and takes a commitment just to drag yourself to, working in an environment where you’re basically told you don’t matter just makes it that much harder to stay committed. Being unappreciated can really encourage people to stop trying and start doing just enough to not get fired and that just makes the environment even worse to work in because they’ve killed the work ethic of yet another person. It’s just another broken system in the larger picture that makes up our society.

    • You’re totally right; a lot of employers, managers, bosses, etch simply don’t express much appreciation for the workers. In fact, I see all the time the attitude of ‘if you’re not willing to put up with my s**t then fine! I’ll just get another employee to fill your shoes! You’re replaceable!” its a nasty attitude and I see it in a lot of places

    • It’s the number one killer of the American work ethic…money doesn’t substitute for appreciation. Posting record profits then turning around and giving your workers nickel raises so you can show your investors you run a tight ship while at the same time you give the CEOs bonuses in the 9 digits makes for plenty of disgruntled employees.

    • Good point!! It’s so true. My attitude often depended on my boss (I’m not working right now, going to school). Learning that helped me when I ended up in leadership positions. People freakin’ respond when you are on their side!!!

    • So true! The best leaders are the ones who listen, acknowledge and are willing to help out when you need their assistance instead of acting annoyed if you dare to have a question.

    • I agree 100%! It is not so simple as blaming people for being uncommitted to their work. It’s the abusive neglect they are faced with day in and day out that makes them disheartened and disengaged. Thank you for your comment! Well said.

    • You hit on something really important in saying that people don’t feel appreciated by the higher ups. My experience is that when people feel that management doesn’t care about their needs, they tend to not care about their job or management.

      I was hired once with the specific request to handle a rogue department. The department was vital to the company but there was so much noise coming from the area that it was a liability. The owner didn’t want to have to fire everyone in the department and didn’t have the time to figure out what was the true source of the problem.

      Of course, I addressed all the basic management skills to the area…but what was really underlying the attitude was a misunderstanding, so deeply ingrained, that the personnel felt their survival was threatened. They believed they could not have babies. They came from a culture where family was very important and having children was expected. They were convinced if they did, they would lose their job. When I told them the laws, they didn’t believe me and instead told me how a person who used to work there got pregnant and lost her job. I had to have a translator show them the laws in their own language and reassured them, they would not lose their job because they got pregnant.

      Over the two years that I worked there, that department had a baby boom! They also became a self sufficient department, working so well as a team that I was able to take on an additional area on top of that. In the end, none of the staff got fired…we had a lot more babies…and some very happy staff.

    • Your story is a perfect example of how good leadership can completely transform a “problem” dept. Years ago I had a similar experience when I was promoted to a store manager but given the worst store in the district. The employees had dealt with 12 managers in 2 years and everyone thought the only way to fix the problem was to fire everyone in the store and start over. I went in there with a positive collaborative attitude and found out it was all due to misconceptions and broken promises. Within a few months I had united the employees, restored their great work ethic and the store become very profitable much to the surprise of district management who didn’t appreciate what I’d done and demoted me so they could close that store down in a futile attempt to avoid the impending bankruptcy. Knowing that good leadership can have such a profound effect on moral and productivity makes it that much harder to work in hostile environments with poor management. I wish more people would learn what you already know, that the workplace is a reciprocal environment and you’ll (management) get back what you’re willing to put in.

    • I absolutely agree with everything you wrote! 🙂

  8. The beginning of everything is easy. The sun is shining, the birds are singing. But, it’s how we hold on when the storms come. That’s what counts. A person’s end is more important than their beginning, and that’s in all things.

  9. I have found the work that I love doing, and I am very grateful for having that clarity. I am a marketing planner and I work with a range of clients across a number of industries. Every week holds something new and exciting. Yes there are “down” days and difficult clients and awful meetings. But 80% it is great.

    Since you are travelling to London, swing across the Irish sea to Dublin and I can meet you. Coffee shops galore to visit, and if you want religious sites we have no shortage. Newgrange burial mound, which is older than the pyramids, we have a church which holds the Bones of St Valentine, if you are looking for love, Synagogues, Mosques and many more. If you like you can drink coffee in the church cafe’s there are plenty of those options too.

  10. We can be interested in many things, but committed to only few.
    Like the part: “You can’t handle the truth” Gene Hackman.. So maybe he can’t handle the stress and the responsibility of being a lawyer.
    Commitment it’s like a private road, but the key of success.
    Your traveling adventure sounds so exciting and cool, but I’m sure you feel exhausted some days; it’s the commitment of your challenging decision. Thumbs up!

  11. Ret. General Stanley A. McChrystal was on Colbert recently touting his book My Share of the Task. He believes in a required term of service by everyone before they set out on career plans. You can choose from a wide variety of options of service for pay. I have always felts that would be an excellent idea for many reasons. One would be the insight it would give to young people about who they are and what they might like, or not like, to do for a career. To go straight from high school to college with that choice already made is risky.

    I could have changed by major/minor several times had it not been for the draft and Vietnam War. Lucky for me, I was happy with my teaching choice. I had been given opportunity by teachers in high school to try out teaching. I was comfortable with speaking in public. Most people don’t get those things.

    • Jim,

      Israel has a similar policy from what I understand and all men and women are required to serve two years in the Israeli Armed Services. I have reservations about that because in some ways it robs us of our freedom; I mean what is the penalty if someone chooses not to serve the two years? Do they go to jail? Cuz that would really suck.

      So on one hand I like the concept of two years served prior to going to college…. on the other hand I believe we should have the freedom to opt out if we so desire……

    • By ‘service’, he meant it could also be nursing, Peace Corps, Americorps, community organizing, … all sorts of possibilities.

      I am also not in favor of mandatory military service. That would be one option.

      Opt out of service and commitment to one’s country is not an idea I would support.

    • I like your explanation of “service”. I could agree with that.

  12. I think a lot of recently college graduates want instant satisfaction from their job without realizing that their ‘dream job’ make take years of work t achieve.

    This is another example of people being far too specific with their dreams. If I busted out of college saying “I want to be a muckraker at a national newspaper,” I’d be a very unhappy person right now. I can still be that, if I want, but it will take years of hard work and some luck. Instead, I came out saying, “I love writing a research. Any job where I can do that will make me happy.” Now I’m happy.

    Maybe I just can’t buy into the idea that a 20-something would assume that movies and TV show any accuracy in the jobs they portray. I’m sure they can inspire interests in certain careers, but certainly they must know reality will be at least a little different.

    • TK, I wonder if you are an exception because your attitude is so awesome; yet statistically the data shows extremely elevated percentages of people, especially young adults, who are unhappy with their jobs. So when I was in college and when I worked in counseling, I would look at the data and ask myself; why are so many people unhappy with their jobs? And of course the problem, like most problems, is very complex, but as a psychologist the goal is to break things down into categories and one of the biggest differences between 21st century Western World and 19th century western world is movies & television. While Hollywood isn’t solely to blame; I have to believe its contributed to the current mindset that we find in the western world.

    • While I suppose that’s true, certainly there are other major differences. For example, it used to be that happiness was being married with a family by 25 for men and women. Buying a house was pretty easy and finding a job wasn’t too hard, especially if you happened to have a college degree. The goals that people set now are completely different. I find among my own circle of friends that getting married, while still desired, is not their main objective in life. Maybe we’re more unhappy because the goals we choose these days are not goals that are quickly accomplished.

  13. I think we fail at our jobs when we do it for the wrong reason. How can being lawyer be wrong if it is satisfying to help those who need help. sure rotten apples are everywhere.
    We become doctors not for the money but because we want to help people or so I like to believe. And if clients walk of with a smile being happy it means job well done and making it fun.

    Just wish i had a job. to begin with.

    • Dude, when I was talking to her I was thinking the whole time: “sheesh, her husband is a lawyer and complaining, yet there are SO Many people would love to at least have a job!!”

      It took a lot in me not to bark at her about her husband’s attitude

  14. The movie Office Space came to mind while I read your article – I think that aside from the hysterical additives in this movie there are a lot of the tedious moments that are shown that annoy most people in the work force.

    • I think that movie continues to resonate with people– a friend of mine had a job back in the day for a movie/bookstore/etc. chain where the film was REQUIRED viewing because apparently the vice pres of the company was just like Bill Lumbergh.

  15. Wow. Interesting post and dialogue. I worked in the same career (RN) for almost 30 years until I became sick myself. I can say pretty confidently I went to work for most of that time with a positive and uplifting attitude. Yet, I know I do not miss my job “too” much. I am happy I had a job that gave me much “autonomy.” I think this is the key. You go to work and work hard for yourself and knowing you have done your best–yet I will tell you I loathed “corporate” America disguised cleverly as middle manangement and CEO’s who never has a pulse on the real work going on. I saw this trend unfortunately increase the older I got. Either I was just getting smarter or my brain tumor was causing me to get a bad attitude. Either way–I am my own CEO these days!

    • “I can say pretty confidently I went to work for most of that time with a positive and uplifting attitude”

      Love your comment; and I totally agree that our attitude in life dictates so much in the way of how our experience will turn out.

  16. You make lots of good points. I think that commitment and dedication are so important to happiness. I was an educator for many years. The daily grind could be trying, but you have to maintain focus to see the long term goal and payoff of success. My husband is an artist and illustrator; it never ceases to amaze me that he can spend days redoing a piece until he gets it perfect in his eyes. His dedication and commitment has helped me to be a lot more patient in my new writing career. Many people today are unable to “stick it out”. They want to see the immediate result. I believe this is what makes them unhappy.

    • Barbara,

      And people like your husband are exactly the kind of people I had in mind while writing the article. I’ve known people similar to the way you describe him and they always blow me away with their dedication and determination.

  17. I think you have finally solved the mystery of why they pay us to work.

  18. Dear Kenneth, I agree with you that excitement fades and jobs get boring. I’m totally there right now. But the thing is I never believed I was where I needed to be in the first place and I’m concerned that my attitude of ‘just stick it out a liiiittle longer, stay the course, don’t think the grass is greener” has kept me committed to work that sucks the life out of me. Don’t you think there is a difference between choosing work that excites you in the first place versus taking what you can get and sticking to it? What if you stay committed so long that you never get to explore what else is out there? I also think corporate America makes it hard for fresh minds to stick with their jobs. The whole structure needs to shift if we truly want bright creative people to stay engaged.

  19. ironically my sweetheart and I were having this very conversation last night. Your perspective on the subject of real life vs hollywood lie were so perfectly written. Thank you for todays blog, it will be a great read for my sweety and I tonight and will, I am sure inspire further discussion.
    God Bless

  20. Thank you so much for this post as it reminds me of how lucky I was. I had 3 kids by the age of 21 but I was determined to get an education. I graduated from undergrad and got into an excellent law school. I went to law school for a stable career to raise my kids. I called it law hell but I worked hard to get there and I was fortunate to be there.

    After I graduated, I landed in a job that I always rejected as a possibility — litigation. I was a defense lawyer who dealt with 30 cases at a time — all different. I worked on something new every day, traveling from city to city visiting clients, appearing and arguing in state and federal court, trying cases, taking depositions, interviewing witnesses, and I even argued before the United States Courts of Appeal for the Fifth Circuit, something many attorneys, even litigators, ever get to do.

    Of course, there were the monotonous parts of the job, like writing motions and briefs, the stress, the insanely long days, the tediousness of parsing through discovery documents and more. Nevertheless, until my health forced me to resign, I had a job that was exciting and that I loved.

    I hope that the individual in your post comes to the realization that the job that he has is one of many jobs for attorneys like him, and all that he has to do is look for it. In the end, perhaps he just doesn’t like being a lawyer, but, at least, he tried. I wish him the very best. Blessings, Lydia

  21. i used to hate my job, bemoaned the fact that i didn’t earn enough, but i grew up one day and realized there’s nothing wrong with my job. i do love what i do it’s the people that make it hard. i decided then and there not to let others influence me for my career choices. People are people. you’re not going to get along with eveyone, but you can try.

    That said, i got a raise today! and i’m not even a full year at my current job! yay me

  22. “And in our obsession with expediency I feel that we are losing the recognition that the best things in life are the things that take time.” Yes! We are obsessed with instant gratification and forget that the difficult journey is a learning experience and a reward in itself. The feeling of accomplishment when having worked so hard to achieve something (even if it is to learn how to love one’s job), is fantastic. A friend of mine really HATED being an oncology nurse. She did some soul searching and decided that working with cancer patients was her calling. She loves it now!

  23. I became a teacher for all the wrong reasons…single parent and needed good insurance and summers off with my kids. I never planned on teaching Special Ed., but ended up teaching severely emotionally disturbed kids because I knew there would always be a need for my services. I became an administrator because I got scholarships to grad school and administration was where the money was. I never wanted to be a jr high administrator, but that’s where the jobs were for women with newly minted Ed.Ds.

    My children are grown and parents themselves. I never had a boring day workwise. I was excellent at what I did. I never regretted a single day. If I had other choices, I’d have done what I loved, like riding horses or walking the beach or raising dogds. Those are avocations. Who has such luxury. I was taught to plan my work and work my plan. I was taught commitment in work, in marriage, in my relationships with others. I think a lot of people are very spoiled, very immature and not so smart. Did that woman’s husband go to law school because he loved the law, because he loved the cocept of justice for all or because he watched too much Boston Legal and wanted to sit with Denny Crane sipping a cognac at the end of the day?

    I’m retired now, I raise some dogs and walk on the beach…a lot. I work for free as a Guardian Ad Litem. It’s a lousy job, but someone needs to do it. It’s not about loving it or about money or lifestyle. It’s about doing work that needs to be done. That in itself is fullfilment. Whiners annoy me…sorry.

  24. Good post . . . I will try to keep your insights in mind as I review movies and books (i.e., these are the products of long, hard work and so their creators deserve a baseline respect) and work on my own projects (teaching, writing). I learned the lessons you write about the hard way — in a previous career — but I needed the reminder. Thanks.

  25. “I’m hardly the first person to observe that Western Society is permeated by a fast-food mentality; we want what we want now! And in our obsession with expediency I feel that we are losing the recognition that the best things in life are the things that take time.”

    It couldn’t possible agree any more! This is basically the same thing I was saying in my post about why speed is irrelevant.

    http://chandlerklebs.wordpress.com/2014/02/22/why-speed-is-irrelevant/

  26. What amazes me most at Michelangelo is the way he went looking for the best bock of marble and not in the last the way he would sneak into the parish for dissections from where he could learn the human body. I think most of the time it was his call not a really a job. I wonder how many of us, these days are going (at least) to a public library to do some extra work to perfect in our job?
    I cannot say I hate my jobs, perhaps I disliked one of my bosses which made an uncomfortable environment to work with and I had to change the firm.
    I cannot bare in mind that I am able to perform for forty years an insipid job.

  27. “One of the things that often goes through my mind as I stare at a Picasso or Renoir is the sheer magnitude of time that it took these great painters to finish their works. A piece of art if it can be created in 3 minutes isn’t very special…….but a work of art that the artist painfully slaved over demonstrates their passion and commitment.”
    -I once read a story about a painter that whipped up a masterpiece in 10 minutes. When asked by an admirer how long it took him to paint it, his response was, “20 years”.

    “A few of my friends have called me recently to tell me how exciting it must be to travel to so many places; yet just like anything else things may seem all fun and exciting in the beginning…….but the success of any venture in life depends on whether or not we stay committed to it after the excitement fades to grey.”
    –Hmmm, just like people seem to think that missionaries that travel all over the place are on vacations. Oh, yes, I’ve always dreamed of going to Afghanistan on vacation. (can you hear the sarcasm). Wow, you spent time in Australia Staci, great. It may seem all romantic and all, even for us missionaries that have lived, or are living this. But it’s just like you said. The excitement fades and reality sets in.

    =)

  28. Reality fades and you have to pay the bills most like:)

  29. niiiice, I like! Even though we may have a few “Hollywood moments” in our life, like our wedding day, or incredible sunsets behind landscapes while traveling down the road, when the right song is playing on the radio with the windows down, sipping a sweet iced tea. But we forget that life isn’t compromised only of Hollywood Moments, even though I think we do subconsciously strive for them. That’s what makes those little moments special. Because they are rare. And you’re right. We must learn perseverance, determination, steadfastness and faithfulness to stay committed to something. We forget that these are attributes that are truths we must apply to life. Otherwise those words wouldn’t exist.

    My favorite quote was “perhaps we have bought into a lie that every minute at work during the day is supposed to be filled with intense moments of excitement and gratification. Yet if we were to talk to Michelangelo and asked him what the experience was like in painting the Sistine Chapel I suspect he would tell us about how difficult it was, the tedious nature of the work, and how exhausted he felt at the end of each day.”

    bravo.

  30. One of the very obvious differences between today’s world and the world of my youth fifty years ago is the prevalence of instant gratification nowadays. We wanted things “now” but they weren’t always available and we learned to wait. It was a valuable lesson, but is no longer being taught.

Trackbacks

  1. Positive Fascism | Chamblee54
  2. Staying committed sucks…REALLY??? (via Culture Monk) | Gr8ful Bugger

Leave a Reply

