The Internet makes us equal…REALLY???

polar plunge 1

By Kenneth Justice

It wasn’t until I got my PhD that certain people at the school finally gave me the time of day” he said

~ This past week at coffee a friend of mine was complaining about certain types of bias and hypocrisy that he believes exists throughout the Western World,

So many people won’t give you the time of day unless they feel that you are ‘in their club’” he said, “But if they find out you have a PhD then all of a sudden they take your opinions more seriously. But even though I have a PhD in History, some silly reality star is more likely to be interviewed by a television NEWS journalist about their thoughts on Middle Eastern conflict than me…..because I’m not ‘famous’ and I’m not a ‘celebrity’ so essentially…..I’m a nothing” he said

Whether my friend is entirely correct or not, I really don’t know. But there is definitely an element of truth behind the idea that celebrities in Western Culture tend to be more ‘relevant’ in the eyes of the NEWS media than the average non-celebrity.

Perhaps that is why the Internet fascinates me so much; because in many ways the Internet has leveled the playing ground.

—-) If you are a parent that has relevant and thoughtful ideas regarding childrearing; then you can start your own blog and publish your writings

—-) If you love politics and have some keen insight into economics or government policy; then you can start your own blog and publish your writings

—-) If you love entertaining people and making people laugh; then you can start your own blog and publish your writings

The Internet has in many ways become a bastion of true freedom in the midst of a world that often pushes the ‘small dude’ into the corner. On the Internet, the ‘small dude’ can be seen and read by millions of people all over the globe; you don’t have to wait for the near impossibility of being discovered in a coffee shop…..but rather, through the power of the Internet you can connect with people from all walks of life.

Of course, to borrow the colloquialism with power comes responsibility. Many people use the Internet to publish lies, promote gossip, and even worse; to slander people. Yet all of those things and more have been done by professional print journalists and television NEWS media as well; the Internet simply allows a greater number of people to easily promote falsehoods.

Sadly, even on the Internet there are little cliques. It wasn’t until the end of my first year blogging that some of the ‘bigger’ bloggers paid any attention to me; it was as though they weren’t interested in what I had to say until they saw that I received as many comments from readers (or more) as they themselves. It’s rather sad that this type of elitism exists even on the Internet.

Elitism and fraternalism in all forms has always bothered me. In the blogging world I don’t demonstrate any partiality with regard to the writers I follow; it doesn’t matter to me if you only have ten readers or ten thousand. I enjoy writers who are honest, authentic, and open-minded.

This year I’ve embarked on a 100 coffee house tour throughout the United States, Canada, and Europe in order to meet with readers, bloggers, and everyone else who comes across my path. It’s been exciting to make so many connections via the Internet over the last year and one of my goals throughout this year’s journey is to better understand the depth and nature of these blogging relationships and the effect they are having within Western Culture.

The last year has been a whirlwind. Through the medium of the Internet I’ve met more people from so many different walks of life than I ever could have imagined,

Jennifer is a Colorado native and works as a print journalist in the desert of California, and one of the nicest people I’ve met via the Internet. Every now and then I check out the Newspaper she writes for and am always impressed at the triple workload placed upon her; 1) she writes the articles 2) she takes the photographs 3) and she has to edit. Mitch Albom’s got nothing on Jen when it comes to industriousness.

Albert Moyer JR from Texas cites skills in cooking, artistry, teaching, and more…and has amazed me each time I read his very poignant posts.

Dewey Decimal holds a Master’s Degree in literature and teaches at a high school in Georgia, her love of literature is contagious

Ann Koplow is licensed therapist who works a group counselor in the Boston area but it’s her daily thoughts on just about everything which draws people into her world

Each time I check out the Nerd in the Brain blog I’m blown away by the creativity this young woman demonstrates in the games she creates and passion she exudes for learning.

Jim in Iowa has a scientific mind that far surpasses the small tidbits of knowledge that I have regarding that discipline

One of my strong suits is Theology, I’ve read a lot….and I thought I had read it all….until I came across Lee Woofenden whose favorite theologian Emmanuel Swedenborg had never registered very high in my studies (I think I had a professor mention the guy in passing once) and so thanks to Lee I ended up spending one afternoon reading everything I could find on Swedenborg

Jaklumen is a Mormon. Those are normally the people we see riding around on bicycles with white button up shirts in the summer and we try to avoid. But Jaklumen puts a whole new spin on the Mormons; he writes without any sly angle of trying to proselytize…he simply wants to connect with people (just like myself) in a spirit of charity

TK is unabashedly a nerd. She doesn’t hide her fandom from the watching public; but rather she embraces it. Her honest and genuine take on life shines through every post she publishes.

Mrs. P. has seen more of life than most of us could see in two lifetimes. She’s experienced hardships that I can only imagine…yet she has picked herself up and risen to great heights.

Mel Wild is the type of pastor that few of us have probably ever met. I’ve written some pretty ‘biting’ articles about Christianity, religion, pastors and church leaders over the past year, yet Mel has never once uttered an unkind word to me. In fact, from my perspective, Mel has always labored to understand where I was coming from instead of simply dismissing me or attacking me.

AuthorMAndyCarroll writes with a passionate intensity that often makes me feel that my own writing is a bit passionless. From wellsprings of tragedy and at times joy, the words flow from her key effortlessly.

Cate Pane is one of those mothers that we all wish we had growing up. Cate writes on a variety of topics but keeps parenting and children closest to mind as she writes each day.

Vicki from Australia has lost quite a bit of sight in her eyes, yet you would never know it looking at her photographs. To put it succinctly; they are stunning.

Dana from Romania has a blog that I often find myself drooling over; she’s traveled to A LOT of places and I only hope that I can make it to half of the places she has been. Her zeal for traveling is intoxicating and she’s one of the few photographers who help me see the beauty in Winter.

Carl Nelson embodies exactly what the blogging world is; a chance for a guy who sells copy-machines by day; and through the magic of blogging publish his poetry and plethora of thoughts to the masses by night. He’s creative, fun, intelligent…..and most of all has a great sense of humor in all that I’ve read.

Chandler Klebs has published a book and writes with an open and honesty regarding religion, sex, and God that I admire quite a bit

Priceless Joy writes with a simple peacefulness which I appreciate quite a bit. In a world filled with noise it’s nice to find a quiet place.

If Mary Widdicks had any allusions that motherhood would involve dresses and doll houses she was sadly mistaken. Mary writes from the often humorous perspective of a mother outnumbered by the guys in her life.

Kirt Tisdale is an artist. He’s not just one of the millions of people who ‘think’ they are an artist…He REALLY is one; his work is pretty incredible and every time I’ve gone to his site I’m always blown away with the talent that other people have (I can’t draw stick figures)

Chris Jordan is a Canadian pastor that impresses me because he seems so laid back. I’ve had my share of pastors who are so intense that when they walk into a room people get nervous. So when I read a pastor who seems comfortable enough to hang out at a coffee shop as he is to be behind a pulpit I tend to take notice.

Jim is a senior citizen that doesn’t want to die the death of irrelevancy.  I’ve known a few people that as they entered retirement they simply wanted to ‘check out’ and ignore young people. But Jim is not that type of person; he wants to connect and make a difference in the world.

Andy & his wife and their beautiful children live in Colorado. They seem like an awesome couple (& family) and while I could say a bunch of other nice things about him and his wife Callie, at the moment I admire Andy the most for his love of Netlfix’s House of Cards. And please don’t think that is trivial; because I TOTALLY love that show. It’s also people like Andy that have reminded me why I prefer Twitter over Facebook.

Swarn Gill is a professor and writes with a tremendous amount of humility. I had a LOT of professors during my college years that I’d NEVER want to hang out with at coffee, because their heads wouldn’t fit through the door. But Swarn is every bit as laid back and chill, as he is intelligent and serious.

Separated via tons of miles, yet through the Internet I found MeWhoAmI and a blog that talks about important and relevant issues; I’m definitely not the only one who has the corner in that market!

Suzi is a teacher from the UK and while I may not be quite as big into cats as herself; I do appreciate her love of traveling and writing. She’s not afraid to question the status quo and I love reading people like that from all walks of life.

Audrey is the older red-headed sister you want by your side when everyone else is against you. Don’t let her romantic and beautiful poetry fool you; she won’t let anyone hurt you if she is in the room.

Citizen Tom is not afraid to write what he thinks. While he might swing a tad bit further in one political direction than myself; I’m glad that there are people out there like Tom who stand up for what they believe in. As far as blog years go, (they are kind of like dog-years) Tom is a veteran and has amassed a library of articles he’s written that puts most bloggers to shame.

I’m not sure where her fascination with all things piglets came from, but Iarxiv is a first rate artist and I only hope that I can write about culture with as much gusto as she writes and draws pigs.

Every time I read something by Staci Lys Dunn Silva I’m impressed with her passionate take on life. She lives with her husband in Brazil and the two of them seem to be filled to overflowing with energy regarding art, film, god and more; her husband is currently filming a documentary that will soon be released in Brazil.

Biochiklet doesn’t mix words. In a few short sentences each day she is able to loudly proclaim how she’s feeling and often does so with a vocabulary that would make an English professor jealous.

One of my favorite blogs of all is by Ranting Crow. I often don’t have time to read much each day, but Ranting Crow provides his regular ‘Thought of the day’ that I can ingest via a quick glance. And when I want to read something a little bit spicy or simply creative; he keeps a regular flow of posts published daily.

This is a mere sampling of the connections I’ve made throughout the past year. It’s been these people and more that stimulated my idea for the Drinking in the Culture Tour and visiting 100 coffee houses this year.

Connections, relationships, the Internet……..what does all of this mean? I don’t necessarily have all the answers, but with each new coffee house I enter I’m thrilled to have this opportunity to meet so many of you.

I will be in Chicago on Saturday! I’d love to meet you and share a cup of coffee with you! (Well, we won’t share the same cup, you’ll have to order your own)

Kenneth

I couldn’t possibly list all of the bloggers I’ve met and who I read so please don’t feel slighted if I didn’t mention your name. Over the course of the next year I’m trying to set a regular goal of listing as many of the bloggers I’ve met via the Internet and who I read on a regular basis. Each of you have been a major source of inspiration in my own efforts, and for that I’m ever grateful.



Categories: Culture & Society

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

77 replies

  1. This is awesome – we’ve talked about this before but I’ve found that certain bloggers only started to respond to me when I had achieved a certain amount of followers… I’m following some of these blogs but I’ll check the others out!

  2. And thanks so much for including me!

  3. I think you are planning to visit San Francisco at some point in this amazing odessey you have embarked on.
    As an ex South African, married to a Scotsman, and living in Beijing, I would like my daughter who is living in SF to come and meet/greet you on my behalf. So some idea of which coffee shop you may decide to grace would be useful. A photo of the elusive Culture Monk would be a nice extra!!

    Because I have visited SF three times in the past 18 months (a two-year old grandson is a big magnet) I have checked out several places. I can recommend Cole Valley Cafe at 701 Cole Street – I had some awesome bagel breakfasts, with good coffee and even better conversation. Also a really good bookshop nearby…

    • As soon as I have dates for San Francisco I will post them ASAP 🙂 I’m still working on getting tickets to San Francisco and Seattle but I think I’ve just about narrowed down the dates 🙂

  4. Great post ! In the book The World is Flat Thomas Friedman strongly advocates the leveling aspects of the internet. I agree to an extent that there is now greater democratisation of both creation and consumption of information. In some ways the internet can increase meritocratic access (e.g. an accountant who lives in Calcutta may be better than the ones in your local town in the US, he can now compete with those American accountants.). However, I wonder whether we’re still bringing a lot of our pre-internet habits onto the net ? e.g. The Daily Mail (UK) is one of the worlds most read news-sites, music bands still need to get signed by a record company to make any $, etc. It’s all interesting food for thought !

    • I was flipping through that book by Friedman at the bookstore a while back and now you’ve made me want to buy it.

      I fear you are right; many of our ‘pre-internet habits’ (the bad ones) appear to be popping up on the Net, but perhaps we can circumvent them from having any lasting effect.

    • World is Flat is a great book, as are his others, particularly The Lexus and The Olive Tree.

    • I’ve only ever seen the World is Flat, but I’ll definitely check them out, thank you!

  5. Great idea. Stuck in my corner of Spain I don’t get much chance to meet bloggers I follow face to face, except for Angelica, because we share the same bed. But I’m so often blown away by the degree of eloquence, philosophy and sheer artistry of so many bloggers all over the globe.

    Working without financial reward, they spread their wisdom and practical knowledge to all corners.

    Though it often takes an inordinate amount of time to deal with the correspondence that accrues from interchange with just the few true followers I have, it’s more than worth it.

    An insightful piece and a daunting, but fascinating project. Good luck with it.

  6. A lovely read this Sunday morning.

    Funny thing about actors, those in Hollywood that seem to get all the attention, is that they put their pants on one leg at a time just like everyone else. Folks seem to forget it’s merely a job, some get attention for doing it well and others for being completely horrible…but in the end it is a job. My father worked in Tinsel Town and so yup…it’s a job and frankly not that exciting.

    Great read and now I have a bunch of new places to explore. Thanks!

    • “Folks seem to forget it’s merely a job, some get attention for doing it well and others for being completely horrible…”

      Exactly! Perhaps it is the power that ‘we’ give to those in Hollywood that inflates their self-importance via the media.

  7. Funny thing about the celebrities, yes.
    And now I want to go through all these blogs you’ve listed, but I don’t have time this morning. This is going to keep me occupied for quite some time. Thank you!

  8. Kenneth, you made my day, thank you!!!

  9. This is an awesome post. I’ve only been blogging for a few months now and all I hope for is true authenticity coming through my writing. Ill have to check out the people you mentioned

  10. Kenneth, I believe that you and I both understand the power and art of writing. You have to love it, because if you are doing it for the the wealth and fame you will not last very long at all. Keep up the good work, I enjoy your insight coming from the coffee house vantage point.

  11. Leveling the field helps to prevent erosion. Sadly, we still see a lot of that on the net. Lucky for some of us, we have found others like you, Kenneth, who always try to build instead of tear down.

    I’m going to explore your list in the days ahead. I look forward to finding others who offer interesting insight into who we are.

    Thank you very much for my mention. That was a pleasant surprise to find today.

  12. Your ability to find new topics, or new and relevant ways to discuss issues in western culture never cease to delight me. I look forward to checking out the “shout out” blogs you mentioned that I don’t already know about. That’s the other side of the internet, you see much more supportive promoting of people who are not yet considered famous than you would on standard media outlets. Things like the blogging awards help people share the love and encourage a positive attitude towards others. While I agree that elitism and popularity contests do exist on the internet I can vouch that I feel way more people have checked out what I post online than have ever listened to me in person, read what I wrote for newspapers or listened to what I said on the news. The internet can still provide a community for people who don’t know their neighbors or have a hard time making friends which is a pretty awesome thing. The internet and social sites have not yet been corrupted/controlled the way the news machine (majority content owned by only 6 companies) has been and I’m very grateful that you can still find the truth online, if nowhere else, as long as you know how to look for it. Thank you again for a great post!

    • “majority content owned by only 6 companies) ”

      I don’t think the average person realizes how much of a monopoly that most of the media companies actually are. Now with Comcast & Facebook trying to virtually buy up EVERYTHING, one wonders where we are headed in the next decade!

      Thanks so much for the great comments as usual and I LOVE Your blog too! You’ll get a shout out soon 😉

    • You are correct, most people are unaware of the monopolies that exist in media, if I hadn’t done a report on mass media in college I wouldn’t have known either. I can only hope the internet remains vast enough to allow the individual freedom to still publish truth and that newer generations can learn to identify fact from fiction. Otherwise how will the future be any better than the grim one depicted in the book “1984?”

      Why thank you sir, it is always extra special to be acknowledged by someone you respect. 🙂

    • I LOVE Orwell’s 1984….have you read Brave New World? I actually believe 80% of what is in Brave New World has come true;

      —) A massive percentage of people are on prescription medication
      —) We’ve taken the fun out of games for children; and the majority of children play ‘organized sports’ that cost money to play, cost money for equipment, and are regulated by adults….
      —) Our culture didn’t have to ‘ban books’ or ‘edit’ them like in 1984…but rather just like in Brave New World; the books are still here but more and more people simply choose NOT to read; they would rather be entertained than to read.

      Its freakishly weird reading Brave New World than thinking about our current society.

    • I feel like I did read it, but probably close to two decades ago, sounds like it’s time for me to go back and re-read it.

    • I sincerely hope that they don’t take over the Internet like they have radio, TV, etc. … because I’m worried. Some think it’s just a matter of time, “it’s not IF the Internet will be regulated, it’s when” or something to that effect was something I remember seeing in a documentary.

    • Yeah, I believe I must have read or heard that somewhere as well. I just keep holding out hope that as long as free speech exists we can still speak the truth.

  13. Who knows Kenneth, one of the bloggers out here might actually be a celebrity who is tired of everyone thinking he/she has no real substance and quietly blogs under a pseudonym…finally able to say what’s really on their mind. 😉 Think of someone like Peter Weller, highly educated and probably loves to talk about anything except acting. But people see him and instantly think…oh, you’re RoboCop…cool. I wouldn’t be surprised if some celebs have secret blogging lives.

    As far as how popular a blogger is, I never look at the numbers when deciding whether to follow a blog. I look at the content…is there a connection or not?

    Thanks for the props…look forward to meeting newbies. I have been meaning to check out a few blogs for some time. Biochiklet, Ranting crow and Victoria are at the top of my list…now I have been given the proper nudge. 🙂 I have some free time today…off to go browse.

  14. More we learn, less we think we know. Knowledge is endless and wonderful planet that inspires and discovers our capabilities to change the world in anyway, any price. Internet it’s been priceless tool, connecting me with my family, friends,school and most recent amazing connection with your blog.
    Everyone is made to create and bring production as long we love what we Do.

  15. Have you ever thought of having a blogroll? This is a list of links to other internet facilities. If you find yourself at a strange computer, and can find your own blog, then a blogroll will help you to connect to these other sites. I should note that sites do not last forever. A blogroll should be gone over, with extinct sites weeded out. This can make for a good post.

  16. This is a great tour, I’m enjoying reading about who you meet, what an amazing variety of people! SD.

  17. Love how you used your blog to give shout outs today! Now… I’m off to get a cup of coffee and read some new blogger material. Will see you all soon! It’s like a blogger date today! – the wifey

  18. Wow! I love it when someone else finds fantastic blogs and then passes them on. Dancing in the rain in Tbilisi!

  19. Kenneth,

    I hope you know and feel how much I adore you. You push my thoughts and encourage reflection, which I crave. Love reading your words. I’m honored by your acknowledgement, if Austin is the Texas city you will be visiting, then I shall come to you. I would really enjoy giving you hell in person. 🙂 Although, I can give a much better tour in Houston.

    ~Audrey

  20. Here in the Western World it is the job of the media to aid in creating as many sheep as possible and keeping the humans overwhelmed with unnecessary information. It’s working too.

  21. “The Internet has in many ways become a bastion of true freedom in the midst of a world that often pushes the ‘small dude’ into the corner. On the Internet, the ‘small dude’ can be seen and read by millions of people all over the globe; you don’t have to wait for the near impossibility of being discovered in a coffee shop…..but rather, through the power of the Internet you can connect with people from all walks of life.”

    That is exactly what gives me hope. No longer am I that small dude in the corner. The internet does make all of us more relevant than any other time in history.

    Also, thanks for mentioning me and my book in your post. As you said, you could never mention all the bloggers. The fact that I am included at all is more relevant because I know that I am one of many people you could have mentioned. It makes me feel even more relevant and inspired.

  22. Reblogged this on Irrelevant Thoughts of Chandler and commented:
    Kenneth did a good job explaining the relevance of the internet. It is relevant to my own post about the internet.
    http://chandlerklebs.wordpress.com/2014/02/04/why-the-internet-is-relevant/

  23. Wow, it’s so cool to see how many connections can be made online, especially through blogging. This community, despite the elitism at times, is powerful and inspirational to be apart of. I’ve always enjoyed your blog because there is substance to what you are writing.

  24. Thanks for sharing this list of some of your favorite bloggers. One of the things I find hardest about this whole blogging thing is finding other bloggers who really engage me. I want to be authentic in the blogging community and not just liking posts and following people to get follows back, but because content is meaningful and strikes a chord with me. Anyways, your blog is one of the ones that has stuck with me, so I am excited to see who inspires you.

    • ” I want to be authentic in the blogging community and not just liking posts and following people to get follows back, but because content is meaningful and strikes a chord with me”

      Very true; some people are out there just trying to get more followers and don’t really care about making authentic connections at all.

  25. Kenneth! I am so honored to be mentioned by you today. Many thanks for that and for introducing me to other amazing bloggers.

  26. Thank you so much for including me in your list and for the lovely things you said about my blog! You’re pretty spiffy yourself! 😉 And I’m with you on the blog elite thing…I jsut don’t get it. I don’t even look to see how many followers a blogger has before deciding to follow them. If they’re awesome, I click follow. 😀

  27. Thank you very much for mentioning me. I’m blushing…

  28. Thank you so much for mentioning my name and for the nice words you said about my blog. 😀 I will check out some of the blogs that you mentioned.

  29. Thank you for changing the text size in the comments section, Kenneth! I did figure out how to get Firefox to resize text, but this is much easier to read, and those resize settings aren’t as graceful and fluid as touch gestures.

    And thanks for the shout out. I appreciate that you’ve made it comfortable for me to talk about my beliefs. Surprise, surprise, though… I did find another blogger– Brother Jon (of Brother Jon’s Page) who talks about his LDS faith quite a bit (his title byline is “where you’ll find a Mormon with a blogging problem”, hehe) and his readers seem fine with it. Maybe part of it is that he’s a convert. His readers see that he got tattoos and drank alcohol before joining; it’s probably more immediately obvious that he’s very slow to make judgments considering his past, which he’s not shy talking about, either.

    Just so you know, I don’t worry a bit about notions of people running away from our missionaries. I like to say working with them prepared me to deal with other proselytzing faiths who have come to the door at various places I lived. My folks showed me an example of being kind and patient to them. Of course, the LDS missionaries in our area have helped me out with physical labor as part of their service responsibilities, so I am more inclined to appreciate them beyond just church considerations 😉

  30. Thanks for the mention in the post above, Kenneth – very kind of you to do.

    I guess the Internet was bound to level the playing platform some ways in that we can’t see faces, hand gestures, style and clothes, or hear the sound of a cultured or educated voice. We also can’t see the tiny space in a public library they’re writing from (as the abuse and violence in their home prohibits anything but a restless, fearful sleep and a quick departure each morning). We can’t see the elaborate home library brimming with the latest technology and communication equipment, but barely a book in sight. We can’t see the haunted eyes of the talented artist or writer as they struggle to afford/fit computer time between their 2-3 jobs. Computers and the Internet are the ‘stuff’ of the Modern World.

    On the internet, we can’t actually see the extreme diversity of backgrounds, but we can see how people express their thoughts and opinions, relay their environmental, religious and political beliefs – some in halting, stilted language that lacks both spelling and even, basic grammar.

    To me, the internet has really bought home the lack of education that many people have had the misfortune to grow up with, and people like myself, take for granted.

    I’ve always considered myself the average middle class western educated female, well read & travelled in my youth – fortunate in having intelligent and well-read parents who, despite their own minimal education (only 14 & 16 when forced to leave school & work), they have brought up 3 children with a love of learning and reading and the gift of an enquiring mind.

    But I’m amazed that even the western world and modern technology has failed in it’s task of supplying the basics of education in many towns and cities. For those in which English is the primary, (or only), language, many people on the internet are unable to express themselves in the written word. The internet has highlighted this fact with surprising regularity. It’s re-inforced my understanding of how incredibly lucky and privileged I am.

    It reminds me of a story, my ex-SIL (a teacher), related when she first left university and embarked on her career some 37+ years ago. Her first job was in a school on the relatively blue-collar side of the city and she had many migrant children in her classes. When she asked one of her year 8 students to stand and read a passage in her English class, the student haltingly stood, looked around in embarrassment and then mumbled a simple sentence asking “Are the words the black lines or the white spaces between?” Back then I was shocked and horrified that a child could reach that age and not know how to read and write in the modern city I live in.

    If only the third world countries were as lucky as us. If only the third world countries had basic libraries and/or computers to learn how do the everyday things we take for granted. Even our pre-schoolers these days learn to read & write on their family’s computer. If all the wealthy in western countries could share out their wealth to enable every child across the globe, access to even a minimum of education, regular healthy diet and the opportunity to work and earn a living, imagine how the internet could REALLY change the world.

    I can hear you saying, the poor don’t need computers, they need a daily meal and a source of fresh drinking water. But imagine if everyone who DID have a computer was able to use it to improve the lives of the poor, then the poor could possibly re-start their lives and their children look forward to a better future. Many live in drought and war-ravaged countries. Many live in hostile environments. Many live (and die) in abject poverty.

    The internet COULD change that. People don’t have to have the internet & a computer, but they sure could benefit by someone’s else’s access (to it).

    And you don’t need a lot of Followers & Commenters to do that.

  31. Wow I am just stunned to have found myself in your list.
    And here was me wondering where all those people came from .All your doing haha
    I am taking a day off and this is what I found.

    Thank you my friend, I am humbled by your words.

    Though I am but a simple man with a simple thought. It is a pleasure to provide and share my brain spills with all of you.

    Its true name the world wide web sure does give credit to its name. And because of its existence we are able to crawl across the world from our very home and share thoughts and reach out a helping hand.

    Again Thank you Dude For writing posts that provoke thinking.

  32. This is what happens when I leave the internet for the better part of the weekend. I get mentioned in something as awesome as this and it flies right by me. I am honored to be listed among these great bloggers and even more excited that I have that many more blogs to follow. Yay! I hope I live up to your praise. Not sure if I did today because the whole time change thing did not do good things to me. Tomorrow will be better.

  33. Thank you very much for the mention. I have also truly enjoyed your blog topics and your view on life and society as a whole.

    The internet is an amazing place, when used appropriately. There is so much to gain, to learn and to share with others. I have found so many people who relate with how I feel on certain topics and others who disagree with me entirely. But, I appreciate both groups of people and have gained friendships in each of them. That’s one element of blogging I have grown to greatly appreciate – the freedom to share and express differing opinions. Blogging is an excellent way to learn about others and to see the world in a way that perhaps we never would have considered otherwise.

    Thank you for all the links to the wonderful bloggers out there. I’ll certainly be checking out those who I don’t already follow. Also, looks like you’ll be in my neck of the woods in June. 16th Street Mall is a great place for coffee.

  34. Hey, thanks for mentioning me (and praising my piglet zeal) alongside so many other great bloggers 🙂 Much appreciated! As for the origins of my “fascination with all things piglets”… well, have you considered that maybe I AM a piglet?

    I mean, just imagine, there you are strolling down a street in London, on your way to a nice coffee shop to meet some English bloggers, and… lo and behold, a dog comes up to you in the middle of the street with a little blanket camouflaging what turns out to be a porcine body and a big musketeer hat shading what turns out to be a porcine countenance. The she-piggy (you did get it right that I am a “she” of some species) sits down and presents to you her right front hoof because she knows that that is how two-legs like to be greeted. You shake her hoof with your right hand, and she snorts – in English, but with a heavy pigletish accent – “Greetings, I’m iarXiv the piglet” and you must be Mr. Culture Monk the two-leg, right? Assuming you are a two-leg, of course. It would be most amusing if you were an alien monk writing about the finer points of human culture. 😛

  35. Thanks for the mention. Much appreciated.

    Sorry I took so long to get back. For some reason the spam checker stuck your pingback in the spam queue. I guess I will have to relax the settings.

  36. Reblogged this on Citizen Tom and commented:
    What is my excuse for this reblog? Partly, it is just ego. Kenneth included me in his list, and I enjoy flattery. Mostly, I am just curious about the other blogs Kenneth included in his list. Kenneth and I come that this world from somewhat different directions, and over the years I have learned that we gain a better understanding when we take the time to walk in other people’s shoes.

  37. Okay, so when are you coming to Dallas/Denton? Will you be participating in National POETRY MONTH?

  38. Hello culturemonk, thank you for your like of my post ‘Nietzsche and his Master’. Best regards, Phil Stanfield

Leave a Reply

