*LIVE* From Pittsburgh…REALLY!!!

DSC08729

My 2014 Drinking in the Culture Tour is NOW fully underway…. having recently returned from Atlanta & Chicago, this past weekend in Pittsburgh begins a non-stop whirlwind weekend tour of upcoming stops in Philadelphia, Madison, Wisconsin, St Louis, Minneapolis, Washington D.C. and more!!!

This past weekend I visited 7 coffee shops in Pittsburgh and the greater metropolitan area and will be featuring articles about the people I met all this week;

—) Hipsters that hated me
—) Aussie art historians
—) Non-committal men
—) And everyone else-in-between

My Philadelphia stop is less than seven days away; I’d love for you to join me for a cup of coffee!

Kenneth



Categories: Culture & Society

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

48 replies

  1. Let me know when you’re on DC. There are some pretty sweet off the beaten path coffee shops in the area, which always have some very interesting and eclectic group of people in and around.

    Happy and safe travels.

  2. Beehive! This one looks like a place where all kinds of creative things can occur. I am looking for a new coffee house near where I moved. So far only the mermaid. I am going all the way across town this morning to the Kosmos. They have Classical Music and a Poet read every Sunday. It is in an old warehouse converted into artists studios. It is the funkiest we have here in the Duke City.

  3. Beehive! This place looks like a very unique local spot. I am still looking for one in my new neighborhood. Only mermaids so far. I am heading to Cosmos across town this morning. An old warehouse converted to artist studios. Classical music and a poetry reading every Sunday.

    • Yea, I’m not one of the people that hate the mermaid coffee shops…. but I really do love independent coffee shops and all of the 100 café’s and coffee shops I’m visiting this year are independent places 🙂

  4. Well I am making me a cup as I type. The aroma is …. sorry enjoy the coffee and the people. It is a journey I am happy to read.

  5. Hipsters that hated me – that’s just funny!

  6. Love to follow your missionary journey 🙂

  7. When do you plan on hitting Nashville??

  8. KIND of losing my mind with excitement. No pressure, Kenneth. 🙂 Rock the peace, my friend.

    ~ Allison

  9. I am beginning to feel like a groupie. Is this a bad thing??

    🙂

    • I’m with ya. – the wifey

    • Paul, you crack me up… this put such a big smile on my face….lol, and I hardly feel like anyone is groupies. I’m just thankful that I have the opportunity to meet so many different writers, bloggers, readers, etc via my trips 🙂

    • Just noticed the 50.3k followers number up top. That you remain so grounded – that is most cool! Most don’t. And as I am permanently grounded – that must also make me a cool grounded groupie – which sounds kinda neat. Let the tour trips continue!!

      🙂

    • Yea, honestly no reason for me not to be grounded; I’m just a simple guy that really enjoys drinking coffee 🙂 and every time u use the word ‘groupie’ you make me blush and feel awkward lol!

    • No more groupie talk – honest!!

  10. Freshened up the old homepage I see. Nice. – the wifey

  11. Yikes…better pace yourself my friend, caffeine-wise that is.
    On such a heavy schedule one too many espressos just might send you into a series of convulsive face twitching and spastic eye vellications which could dampen any serious interview…I speak from experience! 🙂

  12. Looks like a really nice place. I love the concept of your quest!

  13. Looks like a fun place to hang out! You can have the hot soup here instead of coffee:)

  14. This looks liek the kind of place you might find in Berkley or maybe even Santa Cruz.

    • Good observation; I was really surprised how many coffee shops and café’s were in Pittsburgh… this is an unofficial observation; but it seemed like they have more than the average city…. there is a definitely a strong bohemian/hipster feel to where the city is now compared to its past 🙂

  15. This sounds like the best leg of the journey so far; actual hatred. You gotta love it. 🙂

  16. Reblogged this on studio z imaging.

  17. FYI, if you decide that you miss Chicago so much that you must visit again, I’ll be here (unless I’m in Iowa, but I’ll probably be here).

  18. If you ever visit India, stop by in Gurgaon and Delhi and, we can have coffee!

  19. Let me know if you come to NYC. My favorite coffee shop here is Ninth Street Espresso. People either love it or not, but their full, smoky flavor is what really spoils my taste buds. I’ve also become lactose intolerant but their soy latte taste no different from their regular lattes.

Leave a Reply

