I knew the NEWS…REALLY???

DSC08541

By Kenneth Justice

~ What is NEWS? Before the invention of the printing press there weren’t really any newspapers.

—) In ancient Roman times people would scribble a type of graffiti on the sides of building

—) In some ancient cities Town Criers would stand on street corners and yell out announcements

—) The church doors in various parts of ancient Europe were a place that theologians would fasten ‘NEWS’ for other theologians to read

—) For most of the ancient world, whenever a traveler came through town they would bring ‘NEWS’ of what was going on in other parts of the world

We take it for granted that whatever the Newspapers or Television NEWS stations report are things we need to be told…..but do we?

Has anyone ever considered that the overwhelming majority of what we hear on the radio, listen to on the TV NEWS, or read in the Newspaper, is nothing more than a bunch of blather?

I’m a self-confessed NEWS junkie. I love staying current on just about everything. But sometimes I wonder what I’m truly accomplishing by reading about greedy politicians, lying Prime Ministers, blood thirsty Presidents, and divorce addled celebrities.

What really matters in life? What should the NEWS really report?

I need another coffee,

Kenneth



Categories: Culture & Society

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

38 replies

  1. Indeed a bunch of blather

    >

  2. It is hearing the news. and think up the flip side.
    controversial outcome may be included. such as to why we don’t go out on the street and riot when a coloured cop would shoot a white man bunch of times.

    Mind you most the times we only hear half the truth. or maybe just a fraction of the truth. or we hear to much of the possible truths.
    As long as we stay confused they can make news on the same topic by saying. newsflash, new evidence pops up, we spoken to… etc. ooh they can drag. kings and queens of drag.

    Can you tell I dislike the news.

  3. Good points you make and good question- what should be news?
    Definitely less of that celebrity “huffin and puffin” reality. As for news, I don’t think an honest news channel could ever exist 😀 And there’s 2 reasons, but I’m kind of apprehensive of saying more…

  4. News is supposed to be anything new. Are all new things worthy of reporting? No. I have been working on my family’s genealogy and going through old newspapers. Thankfully, it’s a record of who did what, and in that sense, I’m grateful for birth and death notices. Some people like to brag, so there were the look-how-important-we-are pieces up to the 1950’s about who had a dinner party and who were the guests. Who was going on a honeymoon or long road trip. (Hello burglars). I really appreciate the community news, that gives you a sense of the town’s culture. Boat races, parades, flu epidemics…etc. I stay away from inflammatory news these days. It is so biased, and often manipulative, that you have to read more than one report from various news sources to get a complete picture. That becomes tiring. It’s important to teach kids critical thinking skills about news reports for this reason.

  5. It would be nice to hear some good news featured in the headlines (for a change).

    The kind that restores your faith in humanity……the kind that makes everyone sit up straight and want to be involved and active in protecting the environment and supporting those who can’t speak for themselves.

    (or am I being too idealistic? Perhaps I’m watching the wrong TV channel? Back in my youth it was ‘make love, not war’).

    • I’m with you on this one. I think if we were to put our attention on the good things that people are doing, more and more people would do good things. The fifteen minutes of fame syndrome would be fifteen minutes of good works to mankind…right?

    • Good news….. yea, I don’t think we will find it on television 😦

  6. People ASSUME that the news is real and the truth. It’s not. It’s what we are allowed to see or what those in charge want us to see. The news is owned by people who control information. We are shown things that will sway our thinking. We are manipulated by government and the people who OWN the news. It’s meaningless.

  7. I can’t get past what you said a few days ago about who’s really benefiting from the coverage of news… You were right then, and you continue to make valid points, Kenneth. Why do we watch when we all know better? Ugh. I have given up watching. I read, in a juvenile way or maybe nieve attempt…, I suppose I believe I can keep from being persuaded by more than just the facts. Pretty sure I fail at that, too.

    • We watch we because we’ve been conditioned to watch? We watch because we’ve been taught to live a certain way…. and its difficult to go against the grain?

  8. Mostly, the constant barrage of disaster in the news makes people cynical and confrontational.

  9. Bad news, life isn’t easy.
    Good news, I’m living through it.
    News give me headache though:D
    Coffee sounds better 🙂

  10. Seriously?! Is the looting and whatnot in Ferguson because they want attention and are getting it? – the wifey

  11. We need to get back to reporters who give a balanced, objective review of events that are happening around the world not a twenty-four seven series of “talking heads” giving their “expert” opinions on the subject.

  12. I gave up on the news years ago. My blissful ignorance is only occasionally interrupted by big stories 🙂

  13. The news needs to be. I just wish there was more. It’s great that the news lets us know about Ferguson or about pretty people who get seriously hurt and everything in between. Along with a ticker counting days of violence in one area or another, I wish there was one counting the number of Chinese women forced to have abortions, or the number of infant girls murdered by mothers who didn’t want them. I wish we heard positive things, too, like what a community in Africa thinks of a school being built or a story of how a community successfully eradicated FGM.

    I have the same complaints about news that I had for grade school history and social studies class. I get it… American and Europe exist and are important. But what about the rest of the world?

  14. One of the things that I ran into with my genealogy research is that some towns had newspapers. My family was lucky to have had multiple newspapers connected to the town going back in to the mid 1800s. The news was just that, travelers from different areas came and told what was happening in other places around the state and world. It also was the main form of communication in the city, much of what we talk on the phone was written in the newspapers or written in letters…a lost art in itself.

    Because these towns reported about the latest happenings of the members of the community. I was able to take a relative that I had almost no knowledge of and through the papers discover much about his life. It was truly amazing and exciting and I learned so much about the character of the people in my family…great, hard working, caring people. But even back then the papers did report the scandals and people did talk.

    The main differences I see are the graphic details thrown out into the general public arena. Such graphic details often cause much upset. Honestly, sometimes it’s better not to be too graphic..and maybe even a slant might be acceptable. For example, the American propaganda about the war effort During WWII. A lot of it was just hogwash that made the soldiers look like heroes playing on the winning team when reality was that they were under clothed, under fed, poor medical and living standards and those in the pacific had it even worse. Telling the truth would have been too hard to swallow. Honestly, how many soldiers would have signed up if the had been told what combat was really like? How many mothers would have let them go?

    Today’s news has an almost hypnotic affect on people. They are baraged with so much bad news that they have become somewhat numb to atrocities. Something is really wrong when we as citizens just shrug at another auto theft, assault or murder. In my area, during the first week of school a school was locked down because the police had a standoff with an armed gunman at a house near the school. What an awful message to send our children…be afraid, school is no longer a safe place to be.

    Children and old people in particular are having fear hammered into their minds with rapid fire acceleration over and over again. It’s the same stories talked about for days and days. There is something really wrong when media has this kind of result.

  15. No. I don’t watch the news or read the news. I figure it’s none of my business if it’s not right here in front of me. In God’s world – God makes sure that I know what I need to know. The rest of it is unnecessary. I read articles – I recently read an article about what it is really like to work at Amazon. I think that is my business because I just bought a book from there last week – from a used book seller selling on Amazon. As a result of reading the article, I decided to no longer buy from Amazon. This is my business because where I spend my money is my business. I did not know anything about Ferguson but someone told me about it this morning and then I read an article about it. I like to keep my mind free and clear for God to use me. I don’t want to be caught up in things that are clutter – especially now that the news is bought and paid for – after all Jeff Bezos owns The Washington Post – so if I want to know what’s going on I read Natural News, Jim Hightower, and Infowars and draw my own conclusions.

  16. You must live in the USA. Yes, I knew that before I said it. Reading, listening to, or viewing the news is a full time job these days. As so many outlets are producing different accounts of the same events, it has to be obvious they can´t all be telling the truth. That leaves us with several possible conclusions, either some are telling the truth, and others are not, or one is telling the truth and all the others are lying. Then again, they could just as easily be all lying. Now you see it, now you don´t. Place your bets, folks!

    • Never forget the old story of the 3 blind men describing an elephant – none were lying, but the 3 stories were very different. You, as a news consumer, must review the various “truths” to paint a composite, 3-D, as-much-as-you-can-know-not-being-there-yourself view of what happened. We also have to set our own priorities of what is and is not important. I don’t even bother looking at anything related to celebrities (just gossip IMHO), and I mostly ignore early game political stories (posturing and chest pounding for the most part). I wish it were easier to get information on under-reported areas (how often does a US citizen hear about South American countries?). I do try not to attribute to malice and conspiracy what can adequately be explained by ignorance, carelessness, and shortsightedness on the part of the media, but -yes- I’m sure greed is a huge factor (so if consumers pay more attention to celebrity gossip and sensationalism over facts, whose fault is that?)

    • Not really sure what you were getting at Ethel and Everett. I don’t know whose fault it is exactly, or why you’re asking me. But as you have, I can hazard a guess it’s the 1% of the country that holds the nation’s wealth, too many of whom own, or control too much of the media. Next question, please.

  17. Given that the world has become much smaller with the WWW, knowing local news is not enough. What happens in locales far beyond our borders impact us directly or indirectly. After having indulged both the broadcast (television) and print media for much too long, I found my happy place with NPR. They keep me apprised of the important world and local news, tinged with interesting human interest stories and humor. I find that NPR’s reporting on a story is more indepth and informative. All in all, I am not interested in the partisan, lurid, voyouristic new stories that regular media brings to us. Thanks for asking. Blessings, Lydia

  18. With social media and even newscasters always vying to be FIRST, I have a hard time picking out what is real and what isn’t. Especially when they have to go find the podium to apologize for reporting something incorrectly due to erroneous or false information. I find it exhausting trying to keep up with everything that is going on, so I try to find relevant and vetted news reports on things I truly care about, before believing exactly what is being reported. You have a valid complaint, sir…

  19. Have to admit I was a news junkie too but now becoming much more sceptical….

Leave a Reply

