Some mornings…..

coffee cup 5

 

By Kenneth Justice

~ I’ve been working a lot lately…….a whole lot.

My typical work day in recent months starts at 7am and doesn’t usually end till 6pm; and many nights I find myself working till 8 or 9. Putting in eleven and twelve hour work days as a matter of regularity can be a tad bit exhausting to say the least. But as my Uncle Bob always said, “When the fields are ripe with harvest you better reap them while you can”.

For most of my life I’ve been an early riser. The summer of my seventeenth year is when I began my whole little ‘go to a coffee house to start my day’ thing. At the time I didn’t know coffee houses were an awesome avenue to meet some of the most interesting people; when I first started going to coffee in the morning I merely wanted to read the NEWS and whatnot before my work day.

Twenty years later, my time each morning at coffee has been the most rewarding part of my day.

Some people start their day with an inspirational devotion, others with a prayer, and some people begin each day by remembering what they are thankful for in life. I can’t say that my coffee house mornings are a strict regimen of the same behavior all these years because I go through so many different seasons of life.

—–) Some mornings I simply need to sit myself in the corner and think about everything that is going on in life

—–) Some morning I’m driven to read all I can about various topics

—–) Some mornings I’m thankful

—–) Some mornings I’m mad about something going on in my life that I don’t feel that I have any control over

—–) Some mornings I sit with the various characters at coffee and listen to their stories (many of which I’ve shared here on my blog)

In the midst of all the work hours I’ve been putting in over these last few months, my time at coffee each morning has become even more precious than ever. I don’t always make it up early enough to sit at coffee, but on the mornings that I do, I’m ever thankful for those quiet moments before sunrise.

Ultimately, each of us has our different routines. For me it’s obviously early morning coffee. For others it might be going for a walk each evening, or perhaps it’s simply kneeling beside your bed and remembering all that you are thankful for in life.

Whatever your little routine is that helps you get through each day, I hope you stick with it, because when the storms of life come….it will quite possibly be the thing that helps you get through them.

Just a few thoughts as I sipped my coffee,

Kenneth



Categories: Culture & Society

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

44 replies

  1. I think it’s a great way to start the morning 🙂

  2. Amen brother KJ! Had that lesson this morning – and am happily wading through the mountain I thought was there – only to find it is a green and peaceful meadow! Wahoo! 🙂

  3. In my island, we have a saying: “If it weren’t for these little moments, and days fifteen and thirty…” It’s an expression that compares the relief of getting rewarded for our efforts to things that make us feel relaxed, and happy. Like going to happy hour after a work week, or spending time with the kids on the weekend. Your post reminded me of it. It’s really quite important to be mindful of these small, quiet moments with ourselves.

  4. I love this post. It’s peaceful and contemplative. I feel like I’m watching a river flowing by through all its seasons. Deep and satisfying.

  5. Sounds about right, sometimes those little routines are the only thing between you and the precarious edge and you don’t even realize it.

  6. lovely and peaceful Kenneth, thanks for sharing!

  7. Good reminders today, Ken!!!! Have a great day! Shirley & Ed Briggeman

  8. You are absolutely right, it’s those rituals, those tiny joys that anchor us in tumultuous times…what is disheartening is how easy we, or I rather, can allow them to be placed on the backburner “for now”

    I need to begin anew!!

    Thank You!!

  9. You are so right as during the weekdays I pray as I drive my daughter to school. I do so out loud and even though she is non-verbal and cannot chime in she does give a great big smile somewhere during the prayer. It helps center me and I feel that I can conquer my day.

  10. Yea, Kenneth, we are a habitual people.

    >

  11. Today I did this – reading. Some days I’ve got nothing to give at all and have to go back to the well….

  12. My morning was very emotional.
    Peace and Love! 🙂

  13. Yes I am that way as well. When I do not spend time in prayer I feel very off all day

  14. I think that you are right Ken, when life gets tough, lots of times it’s the little rituals that steel us for the day ahead. Every day, a little before 5AM I take my dog out for a walk. It is really quiet in my neighborhood at that hour, and no matter what I have on my mind, I can usually push it aside for a little while.

  15. tea for em please … but I did wander and had some coffee yesterday

  16. OMG…you didn’t have “really” in your title LOL. Sorry had to say it. 🙂 Great post! I think that’s something that’s missing from my life…a good morning routine to help me be ready for the day. I’m working on it. I do believe that if I can start my day on the right foot, the rest will follow even on bad days, but it’s just a matter of figuring out what that routine will be. hmm.

  17. @Ultimately, each of us has our different routines. For me it’s obviously early morning coffee. For others it might be going for a walk each evening, or perhaps it’s simply kneeling beside your bed and remembering all that you are thankful for in life.

    Whatever your little routine is that helps you get through each day, I hope you stick with it, because when the storms of life come….it will quite possibly be the thing that helps you get through them….

    >>Word, word, word!

  18. Sincere and from your heart.

  19. What a lovely post, and yes I feel the same when I get those times at a coffee shop.
    My trip here has been the most rewarding and extremely busy, so while I’ve barely read any blogs at all, I would have liked to somehow caught up with you. I leave on the 1st, taking with me many wonderful memories and the joy of visiting new and beautiful places.

  20. I couldn’t do without my morning routine, KJ.
    I just wish I had the energy to get up EARLY to do it (instead of getting up so late), but then if I got up early, I might miss my wonderful late night hours – LOL.

    I do like my cup of fresh Italian expresso first thing though.

    It’s like an Alarm Clock for the Senses.

Leave a Reply

