23 replies

  1. I will be very interested to hear what you have to say about communal living. I’ve been looking for people who I could tolerate in a communal living situation and I have to say, it just sounds ideal but exactly what you said is the truth, “This generation is selfish and lazy.” I’m not sure I’m going to be able to find anyone who wants to try this!

  2. To me the Occupy Wallstreet movement wasn’t about just whinning as you put it. That one guy you were talking about doesn’t represent the majority of folks who participated. Many wanted to make the statement of how lopsided so-called “capitalism” has become. In my mind, it was about commenting on the fact that the middle class is getting punished essentially. I would warn against saying the lower class doesn’t get punished though because living in that kind of poverty is punishment; the numbers of people who actually take advantage of the welfare system are not as great as it seems – it’s easy to blame a group of people than it is to point out how corportations are running the joint now. To me Occupy was also about going up against those corportations; that once upon a time this country was built on equal opportunity for wealth and prosperity but corporations have shifted that and made it difficult to reach that hence the demise of mom and pop shops and getting overrun by Walmarts of the world…essentially. Plus, there are lots of factors that make it difficult to get out of poverty, which nowadays, as you pointed out, used to be middle class – inflation has really changed the definition a lot that’s true. There is a generation gap – but I don’t think it’s our so much as it is the one right behind us. I see those kids having a sense of entitlement and how that came to be is for a number of reasons. I don’t agree with that. I believe in hard work and taking care of yourself, but I think you’re looking at only a portion of the issue. People who were once middle class are now borderline poverty or flat out poverty and that’s what helped spawned the Occupy movement. The odds of getting successful are stacked against people; disparaties between classes are growing steadily. On another note, I would say that I’d go camping lol. I don’t need to be paid either. It just would be fun. You two are very silly!!! But I enjoyed this conversation. It was interesting for sure. 🙂 Looking forward to more of these.

  3. on conversation and the hippies and the party: People on drugs (acid or pot) don’t have conversation because most often a long drawn out “WOW ” says it all. . .

    We actually at those moments had gone beyond the dumbness of conversation and into the realms of pure connection . . . 🙂

  4. A conversation these days is 140 symbols. preferably with lots of short hand. As to the amount of information is not the problem but the amount of it being true.
    It is worth the conversation though.. uncovering what is right or just right for you.

  5. Nice. I’m enjoying the laugh track and the applause tracks and stuff. Your guest seems quite intelligent and I’m enjoying the both of you. And your appearance is about what I’d imagined. (That rarely happens to me.)

  6. The Occupy Wall Street conversation was most interesting when you brought in someone you’d met who was involved. Perhaps this is some of what makes the Culture Monk interesting. We can all hear or read discussions of headlines and philosophy, but what’s interesting is being at the coffee shop level where we can get the opinions and measure the lives of the people who have them at the same time as they think the issues through and bring moments and stories from their lives.

Leave a Reply

