5 Signs Your A Nebbish, and NO Virginia; You Don’t Want to Be One!

POORLY drawn cartoon (emphasis on poorly) by Kenneth Justice - All rights reserved (2013)

POORLY drawn cartoon (emphasis on poorly) by Kenneth Justice – All rights reserved (2013)

Yesterday Catholic John kept me involved in an all afternoon conversation on the subject of nebbishes……..”what”, you ask, “is a nebbish??”

Well, technically, according to Daniel Webster its someone who is “pitifully ineffectual, timid, or submissive”

but as the all conveyor of wisdom here on the Culture Monk I use it to describe a number of characteristics in people.

Nebbishes are people who are not free thinkers.

In the United States, Nebbishes often join fundamentalist religions, like hardcore Baptist churches, so they can be around other like minded people who think they know it all as well; sorry Baptist readers!

I’ve had quite a few Baptists tell me I’m going to hell because I drink and my daughter dances…….oh the horror!

These Nebbishes told me I was going to hell because I didn't subscribe to their brand of Christianity - Photo by Kenneth Justice - All Rights Reserved (2013)

These Nebbishes told me I was going to hell because I didn’t subscribe to their brand of Christianity – Photo by Kenneth Justice – All Rights Reserved (2012)

The big problem with Nebbishes is that they are highly opinionated, but their opinions are often not based on very sound reasoning.

So if you are concerned you might be a Nebbish then here are the top 5 signs to look out for (although, if you are a Nebbish you probably quit reading after the first paragraph)

5 Signs Your A Nebbish

1) Instead of enjoying life you’re consumed with being an annoying ‘know-it-all.

I’m okay with not having an opinion about everything. Sure, I have opinions about a few subjects; but usually only after a long time of thought, reflection, and study.

2) You are not open to other peoples opinions.

Have you read my article on the gay marriage debate? Nebbishes aren’t interested in listening to alternative ideas on the subject, they are convinced their fundamentalist religious perspective is the only correct view and they refuse to chill out.

3) Nebbishes believe everything their teachers and parents tell them.

Guess what….teachers and parents aren’t always right. Imagine if you were living in ancient times and your parents told you it was time to sacrifice a virgin to the Sun god in order to appease his wrath….you think those parents were right?

Photo by Kenneth Justice - All Rights Reserved (2013)

The Sun god wants your sacrifice…..bow to the sun god!!!!    Photo by Kenneth Justice – All Rights Reserved (2013)

This isn’t to say we shouldn’t respect those in authority……but its good to examine everything we’re told.

4) Nebbishes are clones of the people who rule over them.

Nebbishes are often members of cults…are you in one? Here is my article to figure out if you are in a cult.

5) Nebbishes are usually only friends with fellow Nebbishes.

What is your social group like? Are there people of different colors, ethnicity’s, etc? If there are, then don’t worry, you’re probably not a Nebbish.

But…if you have a very close-minded social group of friends….watch out….you might be a Nebbish!

Nebbishes don’t like diversity.

Finally, most of all, Nebbishes LOVE the status quo. They are not open to change. They love the politicians that rule over them. Nebbishes do what they are told and never ask why. Nebbishes love being told what to do, and don’t want a freer society where people can make up their own minds.

Just a few thoughts as I sipped my coffee this morning,

Kenneth



Categories: Culture & Society, Religion

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 replies

  1. The meaning, that secret to life is 42.

  2. Actually, it is quite fearful, if you think of, majority of the western societies want “their people” being nebbish, a hand without a mind, a replacable tool, what consumes, digest and speak only according to their masters.

    There are lot of great, right.hearted and minded soldiers, hwoever, they do no get the chance to decide whether thre is any kind of righteousness in what they do (sure, it was so in the whole human history).
    Or the teachers, schools, who are not really ancouraged (or forbidden) to be independent and help great thinkers to evolve from young minds, with care… and the list goes on.

    Everything, even the internet is full of “Have a Happy, Thinkless Day!” attitude.

    So, it seems to be easy (or easier) being nebbish, because that feels the individual repsonsibility is less…
    it is not…

    Have a Blessed Day!

  3. Curious…did you make up the term Kenneth? Why do you suppose a person becomes one? I’m guessing one of the reasons is that they may not have been allowed to have a voice when they were growing up or something caused them not to trust their own voice/instinct. Are there Nebbishes who are middle aged adults or do they usually grow out of it. Are Nebbishes people we should judge or people who need rescuing?

  4. Wow, I learned a lot about the term nebbish. Thanks.

  5. Somebody slipped Folgers in Kenny’s Kopi Luwak today…

  6. Hey Kenneth– I stopped by to see what’s up; I was recommending a blogger by the name of Gene’O “The Sourcerer” check out your discussions here. He’s worked with Suzie81 for #SundayBlogShare, and Lizzi “The Considerer” and author Yvonne Spence with the 1000 Voices for Compassion (#1000Speaks) that was just last Friday, the 20th, in response to the U.N. Social Justice day. I know you’ve pointed out that blogs are a great medium for regular folks to come together, and I figured Gene’O is a guy you’d like to connect with.

    On-topic: I’ve read that social researchers have noted these “nebbish” tendencies in societies throughout history. I think the gist of it was that it was a means of preservation, whether they were as small as tribes, clans, or blood relative families, or as big as city-states and nations. And of course you know I write about Joseph Campbell– although myth and legend might not loom so large in our belief systems as times past, we still transmit our ideas of what is important in our culture, in our songs and stories. Of course, “nebbish” stands out rough and sore when ours talks about rugged individualism, and individual meritocracy. We still cling to ideals established in the Victorian and Edwardian eras (why else would Downton Abbey and steampunk fantasy be so popular?) and cast the respective shame back to the days of the Puritan Separatists (when “uptight” notions of politics and sex actually are Victorian).

    And we still cast an awkward glance, if not a disapproving one, to societies of the East that are collectivist still, that are focused more on impacts to the group, and not the individual. This bias, as it were, still shapes our views in the West towards Asia– more specifically, China. I don’t think we’re aware of how much it still permeates Japan, even as they serve us up their interpretations of the West through their manga and anime mediums.

    In short, I think we’re still very much conflicted about our relatively recent past– from Calvinism to the Victorian Era. We still place heavy emphasis on individual merit, and we’ve distilled it down as such. I’d go on about how I’ve read “The Platinum Rule” variation of the Golden Rule has been said to be difficult to enforce– this one reads: “Do unto others as they would wish you to do it unto themselves”– because it requires perfect understanding of an individual, to be perfectly followed. But that wades deep into ethics and philosophy, and would be better served in a blog post of my own. (Thank you again for indulging my rambling.)

  7. “Finally, most of all, Nebbishes LOVE the status quo. They are not open to change. They love the politicians that rule over them. Nebbishes do what they are told and never ask why. Nebbishes love being told what to do, and don’t want a freer society where people can make up their own minds.”

    The thing that prevents me from being a nebbish is that I always ask why. I also hate the status quo. I am very specific about which changes I want and which I don’t.

  8. What if I made up my own mind that I (mostly) agreed with my parents? What if my parents disagreed with my teachers? What if everybody else hated the status quo, but I sometimes disagreed with that consensus? 😛

Leave a Reply

