Finally!!!!!!!!

Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 8.04.09 AM

~ Today marks the release of my first book, The Culture.

Unless you’ve been living under a rock for the past few years, people throughout the Western World are living in a state of unrest; Greece, USA, Germany, the list of countries where there is economic, political, and social unrest has been growing like wild fire in recent years.

It is hard to pin down the exact root of all this unrest. Perhaps part of it is due to the financial collapse of 2008 that really rocked much of the world’s economies. Perhaps part of it is due to the rise of the Internet in the 90’s and 2000’s which changed the economic, cultural, and political landscape throughout the world in a way we had never experienced before as humans.

Whatever the reasons, it is safe to say that many people are living with a sense of unrest.

People are more divided than ever before; people on the left think that their political views are the correct views, and people on the right think that their political views are the correct views. There is more pigheadedness by people on the right and left than I’ve ever seen in my entire life.

Someone like me who is more or less the type of person that lives in the middle, finds themselves in the midst of a war; a clash of culture.

Whether you live in Europe, the Americas, Australia, or wherever, the Internet has brought this clash of cultures to your computer screen and to your front door.

—) Atheists seem to be at war with Religious folk.

—) Religious folk in the Middle East seem to be at war with Western Culture

—) Buddhist monks light themselves on fire in Asia as a way of protesting the Chinese government.

As Cat Stephens said, it truly is a wild world.

In the midst of all this nuttiness, last year I was quietly finishing a novel. It was something I had first written a few years ago as a way of communicating some ideas about the things I was seeing in Western Culture to a friend of mine.

I sat down at coffee one night three years ago. I was feeling really sad about a lot of the things that were swirling around me….and I suddenly found myself writing a story. Three hours later in that crowded coffee house I stared at my screen and realized I had written more than a hundred and fifty pages.

The novel weaves the tale of five friends who live in a dystopian future. The Internet continued to evolve to such a degree that everyone throughout the world spends their entire day on the Internet……..culture as it was once known in the past, is merely the story of legends. People’s entire lives are recorded for the whole world to see; all privacy is gone.

By providing the book to my readers, I offer a small window into my own private life. My privacy is something I value to a great degree. I guess I am something of an old curmudgeon in that I don’t live in the Instagram world where people get to see pictures of my every waking moment. While I am very liberal in sharing the stories I experience at coffee, I don’t include names and places, and I cloak each of my stories with certain elements to protect people’s privacy.

I’m not the type of person that sits down and opens up the most intimate details of my life for the whole world to see……perhaps there will be no place for people like me in the new world. Perhaps I am part of the last remaining vestiges of the old world that is slowly fading to grey.

You can currently obtain the book through Amazon in both the E-book version and paperback (although the paperback is more expensive, I highly encourage buying it!!!), I’m currently working with Barnes and Noble and other retailers, so hopefully there will be more options in the future.

Thank you to each of my readers and blogging friends who have stuck with me for the past three years, I appreciate each and everyone of you,

Kenneth

To get the book click this link



Categories: Culture & Society

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

23 replies

  1. You published a book! A book people are going to buy and read! Yay! I’m looking forward to reading it sir and again, congrats!

  2. Big day!! I want your autograph too 😍😆
    Congrats!👏🍸🎉

  3. Congratulations! Bought it, on my iPhone as I type. Will look forward to reading it. 🙂 Blessings.

  4. Shall probably buy the ebook version!

  5. Congratulations on your book! And thanks, too, for liking a post on The Expositrix!

Leave a Reply

